Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Standard

Hi Guys! We are just back from Florida and I feel like I haven’t blogged in a sweet forever! If you would like to join the Hodgepodgers, click on the button below and head over to Joyce’s to link up!

1. ‘In like a lion, out like a lamb’…does the first part of this saying describing March weather ring true  where you live?

Possibly. You never can tell up here in The Mitten. Last year that dang lion roared all the way into April! We had a loverly snow – ice storm yesterday. It was a rude way to welcome us back home.

2. March 4th is National Grammar Day. What common grammatical error bothers you the most?  

I am struggling with this question. On the one hand I know that grammar is sentence structure and rules and other things that fall into the punctuation category, but then on the other hand I have always heard the expression “poor grammar” which seems to be improper word usage along with that improper sentence structure.

I know there are a lot of bloggers out there trying to keep their heads from exploding because of poor grammar. I used to read one gal who regularly pointed out when the grammar of others annoyed her. It certainly got old, hence the used to read.

I could possibly be an offender. I think that my writing style is a stream of thought and my thoughts hopscotch around tenses. I might over use the comma. I don’t think I am a condemner though, I will read you based on the merit of your words without judgment. I might notice the your and you’re are mixed up, but we can still be friends.

On the third hand, “poor grammar” bugs me far more. 

How did that ever get to be a thing?

And that is all I have to say about that.

3. William Arthur Ward says- ‘The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.’ Which one are you?

I am going to say an optimistic realist, based on my extensive first hand knowledge of sail adjusting.

We recently had a situation where the odds were certainly not in our favor. It was bleak. But as I was praying for God’s intervention, He caused me to remember all of the many other times He has intervened on our behalf in other seemingly unfavorable situations. I realized that our job was to pray and jump through the required hoops, all the while getting our ducks in a row in case the answer was no. God was doing all of the heavy lifting at His end, because NOTHING IS TOO HARD FOR HIM!

The answer was a resounding YES and we are SO thankful. But we did get some more experience in optimistically adjusting some familiar sails.

4. What’s something you need to ‘march forth and conquer’ this month?

Well, Honey and I are embarking on a diet. Let’s pray we march forth and conquer!!
5. An ongoing debate around here…do you dust first, then vacuum or vacuum first, then dust? Of the two routine household chores, which do you dislike the least? How’s that for wording?

I am a die hard vacuum first/dust after kind of gal, and here is my reason. Vacuuming stirs up way more dust than dusting does, therefore I prefer to get ALL of that dust as opposed to worrying about the little bit of dust that might sprinkle back on the floors.

I will say I dislike dusting least because it takes way less time.

6. According to thrilllist.com, the ten most photographed sites in the U.S.A. are- Cinderella’s Castle in Orlando, Southernmost House in Key West Florida, The Space Needle in Seattle, The Site of the Boston Massacre in Boston, The Bellagio Lake/fountains in Las Vegas, The Lincoln Memorial in Washington DC, Coit Tower in San Fransisco, The Art Institute of Chicago, Niagara Falls, and snagging the number one spot-The Guggenheim Museum in New York City.
How many on this list have you photographed? Which on the list would you most like to visit and photograph?

We have taken pictures at Cinderella’s Castle, The Lincoln Memorial and Niagara Falls. I think I would like to go back to The Lincoln Memorial.

Summer of 2005

IMG_1680

7. Fifty years ago Monday (March 2, 1965) The Sound of Music premiered at the Rivoli Theatre in NYC. Have you seen the film? Do you own a copy? On a scale of 1-10 how much do you love it (or not)? Ten=best movie ever. If you’re a fan, what’s your favorite scene or song from the movie?

I LOVED that movie! I would give it a 9. There were so many scenes that I loved but one of my favorites was when Maria was teaching the children how to sing. And So Long, Farewell, and 16 Going on 17.

When I was a girl my Mother had 2 albums I listened to OVER and OVER. One was Mary Poppins and the other was The Sound of Music. I guess Julie Andrews was the soundtrack of my childhood.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

For Way Back When-sday we go back to our 2005 vacation to Washington D,C, You can barely see it but the Capital Building is behind them. I can’t believe how young my people look!!!

IMG_1683

Below the Washington Monument.

IMG_1682

That trip was a highlight in my museum of recollection!

Thanks for stopping by!

3 responses »

  1. Awesome shot of the Washington Monument. I have similar feelings about ‘poor grammar’. I will not unfriend anyone over it : ) I don’t think I ever misuse your and you’re, but I will use fragments, the occasional ‘ain’t to make a point, that sort of thing. Good luck with your eating plan! I tried to get to boot camp today, but the driveway was a sheet of glass up top, so I was reluctant to attempt getting all the way down. We have a showing today and I didn’t want to take out the stone pillars at the bottom of the drive!

    Like

  2. Grammar mistakes don’t bother me usually, unless they are huge. But I am pretty good at proof reading papers to find errors for my kids. I think blogging has improved my grammar and writing. I just bought a dress for the wedding, nothing like that to boost dieting resolve! Good luck to all of us!

    Like

  3. I lived and worked in Metro DC for 12 years. It’s a shame that I drove by so many landmarks without even seeing them. Familiarity. Like now, we live 45 minutes from Disney and never go there! Looks like you had a great vacation in 2005!

    Like

Leave a Reply

