Wednesday Hodgepodge

Standard

Hi Guys, thanks for stopping by! If you have a hankering to link up with us, head over to Joyce’s by clicking on the button below. She is a loverly gal and would welcome you with open arms!

1. What’s the first image that comes to mind when you hear the word ‘spring’? Which phrase best describes the season of spring where you live right now (today)-sprung! almost there, or still waiting?

Spring brings to mind buds and blossoms, fresh and colorful, and a welcome release from all of the sweaters, hoodies, fleece, coats, scarves and gloves! Michiganders tend to look like the Michelin Man in winter, bundled within an inch of our lives.
IMG_1692

The Mitten has actually been decent this week! Temperatures as high as the low 50s, which was delicious!  Unfortunately, I have lived here for the majority of my life and a 50 degree day in March means absolutely NOTHING. It could be –20 below ZERO in 24 hours. Last year we had full on winter through April. I am going to say a solid still waiting.

2. Bed, couch, stapler, garage door, computer mouse, recliner, flashlight, door knob…which household item containing springs most needs replacing in your home? Speaking of springs…did you ever own a Slinky?

I cannot think of a doggone thing that fits into this category! Wait, if a computer mouse has a spring does a television clicker? Our clicker is trying to quit us.

I think everyone in my generation had a Slinky, even if they were nothing more than a tangled, messed up twist of wire thrown in the toy box.

3. March is Women’s History Month. Share a favorite quote by a woman.

I love quotes. On my Pinterest wall the WORDS board has the most pins. A good quote can sometimes slice through all the junk to the heart of the matter, or conk you on the head with truth in a way you never considered. If you know me, you understand that I can never narrow anything down to one or “favorite”,. I thank you for humoring me. Here are a few that I love, in no particular order and I’m sure there are others that I love more but didn’t think of.IMG_1694

IMG_1697

IMG_1695

IMG_1696

IMG_1699

You know who has some good quotes? Joyce Meyer has some flat out good, practical advice.

4. What’s a question that looms large in your mind right now?

I feel a little in limbo right now. There are big changes coming and a lot of variables to consider. Honey is coming up on retirement, the kids are growing up, and we are wading into uncharted waters. Oh, we have talked about “some day…” but sometimes plans are like nailing jello to a wall. It has been our experience that making too many set in stone plans is not wise. I guess we will continue to pray for what the Lord has in store for us. He has steered our plane before and will do so again.

So the question that looms is “where will we land?”
5. Are you a sugar freak? By that I mean how much do you love sugar? With all the bad press sugar gets these days, have you made any efforts to reduce the amount of sugar you consume?

I do love a good dessert!! BUT, I have to say that I feel better when sugar is a treat rather than a daily indulgence. I have tried to follow a low carb lifestyle for over a decade with varying degrees of commitment and success. I do think that sugar can be a problem in our diets and I am at a loss as to why it is added into nearly everything. I think maybe people consume WAY too much because we have lost the desire to monitor ourselves when something is so readily available.

When I was growing up, many of the things we consume now on a daily, hourly, basis were considered a treat. I knew of no one who had daily access to pop, candy, and all manner of yummy baked goods. Those kind of things were reserved for Friday nights or birthday parties and holidays, special occasions. Everything is everywhere, and we don’t seem to be able to deny ourselves. AT ALL.

So for me, the best option was to severely curtail the sugar intake.

Funny this question came up today. My Aunt Phyllis asked if Honey and I wanted to join her, my uncle and several others in a 10 day sugar challenge that included artificial sweeteners. I said I would do it except for my morning sugar free chai that includes Splenda.

Mama needs her chai. So far, so good 🙂
6. Would you rather have less work to do or more work you enjoy doing?

I feel I am fortunate on this front. I am not overworked, and I enjoy what I do. I’m good, thanks.
7. Ever been to Texas? Of the top ten Texas tourist attractions which would you most like to see-The Alamo, The San Antonio River Walk, The State Capital, Dallas World Aquarium, Padre Island National Seashore, Houston Space Center, Schlitterbahn Waterpark in New Braunfels, Six Flags Fiesta Texas,  Moody Gardens, or Galveston Island?

I have been to Texas exactly once in my life. About 10 years ago a group of gals went down to San Antonio. We visited BSF Headquarters to volunteer.  We worked in the press and served in their dining room. It was a fun trip and I was so glad I went!

We had very limited time but we did go to The Alamo and visited the River Walk. I would be more than happy to visit any of the other places!
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

We were talking about spring a few questions ago and I said that last year we barely had a spring. But to prove that The Mitten can perform, on occasion, I went back to the end of March in 2012, it was GLORIOUS!!!!!

025

022

Please Lord, make it so again!!!!!!!

6 responses »

  1. I absolutely love what Audrey Hepburn did for the poor children in Africa. She’s my icon!
    That’s a pretty funny part about the michilin man! Even on cold winter nights in cali we need puffy jackets that make us look like that. I usually wear jacket vests because my arms get too hot.

    Like

Leave a Reply

