Fourth of July at Gun Lake

Standard

My Uncle Bob and Aunt Phyllis invited us up to their cottage over the Fourth of July weekend. We love it there and spending time with them is always most enjoyable! The Boy and The Dane were unavailable due to work. Mousey was on board until she was stricken for 8 days with the flu/cold from H E double hockey sticks. Since we had to go to urgent care the morning we were leaving it was decided she was a socially unacceptable house guest, so she remained at home. Coughing.

So Honey, Ab-Cat and I went by ourselves. The cottage is about 2 and a quarter hours away, yet it seems far from our hustle and bustle.

IMG_2515

IMG_2516

Bob and Phyllis have owned this property since I was around 20? The first cottage, a brown one, was torn down after a couple years and they built this one. It has always been a very fun place to come! Family! Tubing! Jet skies! Cards! Good food!! Our family has wonderful memories here!

IMG_3662

They have been talking about selling it for the last couple years, so it always feels like it could be the last time we visit and that makes it bittersweet. It’s so beautiful and peaceful. Even Honey agrees that it is easy to relax there. And that is REALLY saying something coming from him!

Phyllis’ flowers were all beautiful. She said her secret is mixing in a little Miracle Gro every time she waters.  It’s working!

IMG_3661

Capri Kel taking a picture of Rob B taking a picture of Uncle Bob and his daughter, Girl Cousin Lindsay. And her fur daughter, Ava.

IMG_3663

Looky!!!!!!! Bob smiled! On purpose! He is usually a tough customer.

IMG_3660

We had all gathered out in front for their street parade, with fancy cars/trucks and highly decorated bikes, wagons and persons!

IMG_3665

I have to document another smile! He was on a roll! Or just laughing, perhaps at me, perhaps not.

IMG_3667

The internationally known Team Levine, from Florida!

IMG_3669

After the parade we headed out for a boat ride to see what was new on the lake.

This one was new. And beautiful.

IMG_3681

This one was new last year, but this is a better picture than the one I took last year. It’s a mammoth, deep house!

IMG_3700

These two.

IMG_3671

Oh.My.Word.

IMG_3674

Goofs.

IMG_3676

A small contingent of the NutHatch Family.

IMG_3678

This is our Guv’nah’s summer home. He is Rick Snyder and his campaign slogan was “One tough Nerd”. He was a very successful businessman before he was Michigan’s governor. I’m sure he an equally loved and hated governor.

IMG_3684

Our Captain, pointing out some tidbit.

IMG_3687

I like to take her picture when she is unaware. She hates it.

IMG_3690

Team Levine!!!

IMG_3694

The always fascinating, former summer home of Al Capone, who reportedly dumped a cache of guns in the lake to avoid the Feds. Hence the name; Gun Lake.

IMG_3695

The Crows Nest. I don’t know if that was Al’s name or later owners. I discovered that I have a skill for taking crooked pictures, don’t judge me.

IMG_3696

Ahhh, back at the cottage. I am always amazed that they can get us back where we belong. It all looks the same to me until we are thisclose and I say OH, THERE IT IS!

IMG_3703

IMG_2500

Our fearless captain.

IMG_3706

We headed out for fireworks later that evening. Or the next day. Whatever, I can’t keep the timeline straight, we were vacationing and it’s too much mental figuring.

IMG_3711

The Floridians were bundled up.

IMG_3712

My people were more bundled for bugs, which I heard were bad. I sat across the way, with my sleeveless shirt, completely comfortable. Not cold and not bothered by bugs. Nature likes me. The hormonies do not.

IMG_3709

Do you know what’s hard to capture a picture of? A firework. Looks like warp speed on Star Trek.

IMG_3726

Fluffy cats, eyes glowing in the dark?

IMG_3727

Pretty good.

IMG_3728 

Little too much smoke.

IMG_3733

Epic fail.

IMG_3725

BEAUTIMOUS!

IMG_3723

Where some lounging and talking took place.

IMG_3736 

Where the magic happens! The eating and card varieties.

IMG_3737

PEANUTS! I lost abysmally. Really, it was pathetic, possibly the worst hand ever in my 35 year career.

IMG_2498

Another lounging area.

IMG_3707

And another lounging area.

IMG_3738

Them’s good people!

IMG_3741

Them’s too!

IMG_3746 

IMG_3748

Rob B had a good idea for Honey’s retirement. He wants to start a store/restaurant, with Bob and Honey as partners, called “You’re The Cook” and sell Honey’s spicy pickles, salsa, hummus, spaghetti sauce, Phyllis’ Snickerdoodles and brisket and sauce, and my granola and my Uncle Frank’s mother’s coconut pound cake, also known as Mrs. Davis’ pound cake in our family, among other things!  That pound cake was schnibbled to death!

Keep working on those details Rob B!

IMG_3753

Good food, conversation and many laughs! Another loverly visit, hopefully not the last!

IMG_3750

2 responses »

  1. Hmm, Honey’s thinking about retirement… Uncle Bob & Aunt Phyl thinking of selling… Good place to relax…
    I think you know where I’m going with this…

    Like

Leave a Reply

