Wednesday Hodgepodge

Standard

Hi Guys! I am posting this from HOT, HUMID, Virginia. I have been visiting with Mrs. Schmenkman for the week and will be flying back to The Mitten this afternoon. We have been discussing this weeks questions, and having quite a good time doing so! Here we go.

1. I recently read here about four secrets to happiness from around the world. They were-

Overcome your fears by facing them head on, allow yourself to relax and reset, work to live versus living to work, and find the good in life. Not sure if these are the actual secret to happiness, but which of the four do you struggle with most? Which one comes most easily to you?

Schmenky and I both agree that facing and overcoming fears is our greatest struggle. She mentioned her fear of heights and we both agreed that facing change can be a bear. I would say that I don’t meet changes head on, more like sideways, with a hand partially covering my eyes.

I have no problem relaxing and resetting, no problem whatsoever!

2. How would you spend a found $20 bill today?

I think I would take my people out for ice cream! Key Lime on a waffle cone please!

3. Ego trip, power trip, guilt trip, round trip, trip the light fantastic, or trip over your own two feet…which ‘trip’ have you experienced or dealt with most recently? Explain.

Round trip! I flew into Washington Dulles last Wednesday, was picked up by Mrs. Schmenkman, driven to Sassy Cat Hill for a wonderful week of talking, eating and shopping, and tomorrow she will haul me back to the airport so I can fly home to Detroit Metro airport, full circle baby!

4. If you could master any physical skill in the world what would it be, and how would you use that skill?

Schmenky said welding for metal sculptures or working a lathe to turn wooden bowls. She is decisive like that.

I am meandering through the many things I wish I were proficient at. Things like gardening or photography, sewing, or furniture restoration. I am a jack of a few trades, master of none.

But ultimately the skill I would choose to physically master would be cooking. Because I hate to physically cook. I would use the skill to feed my family because they all like to eat very much. I wish I enjoyed cooking and it would be such a pleasure to be able to whip up delicious things with ease. Maybe in Heaven, because SURELY there will be food in Heaven!!!

5. As July draws to a close, let’s take inventory of our summer fun. Since the official first day of (North American) summer (June 20th) have you…been swimming? enjoyed an ice cream cone? seen a summer blockbuster? camped? eaten corn on the cob? gardened? deliberately unplugged? watched a ballgame? picked fruit off the vine? taken a road trip? read a book? Are any of these activities on your must-do-before-summer-ends list?

I have been IN the pool, but I don’t know if you would consider that swimming. Have enjoyed many ice cream cones! I think the last blockbuster I saw was The Avengers Age of Ultron, but that was in May, so I’m guessing it doesn’t count. Have not camped, but have had corn on the cob multiple times. Have gardened a goodish amount, watched a ballgame on TV, and read several books. Have NOT deliberately unplugged or picked fruit off any vines. I WILL be going on a road trip in mid August with the gals from Birthday Club!

6. The Republican Presidential candidates will debate on August 6th. What’s your question?

Ugggg politics, the election year hasn’t even arrived and I am weary of some of the conversations. Schmenky and I discussed this one quite a bit, our question is a little broad but we want to know what issues would be their priorities. What do they think needs to be tackled first and how would they go about it. That would be a good way to determine who we would even consider in the running. Some candidates seem more interested in telling you what is wrong with the other fellows ideas than explaining their own. This election is very important, we have very serious issues that we need to get a handle on. The herd needs to be thinned.

7. What’s your most listened to song so far this summer?

I don’t listen to the radio in my car anymore but Mrs. Schmenkman does, so I have heard more songs this week than I have all year practically! She bought Ed Sheeran’s cd X and we have listened to that multiple times. And when I think about it, our girls were talking about him when we were on vacation in March. He has such a nice voice and is clearly is very talented.

Thinking Out Loud is a pretty, sweet little song, I will say that.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

This has been the 20th year that I have come to visit Schmenk. It’s been a wonderful time for us to visit and get caught up on each other’s lives. It seems like a long time ago (24!!) that we worked side by side at the hair salon! I am SO thankful that we have been able to remain dear friends!

In the sweetness of friendship let there be laughter, and sharing of pleasures. For in the dew of little things the heart finds its morning and is refreshed.

There is nothing on this earth more to be prized than true friendship.
Thomas Aquinas

She is a kiss on the cheek from a really good God! Thanks for the visit Schmenky!

Have a good week.

7 responses »

  1. agree, agree, agree about the politicians. I keep hoping someone I’m genuinely excited about will enter the race, but I’m not sure who that would be…

    Like

  2. My daughters mother in law turns bowls, and they are gorgeous! Once we get down there we’re going to watch. Hubs is not keen on me and sharp objects so don’t know if I’ll try it : ) Yes, the herd needs thinning! Safe travels home…glad you enjoyed your getaway.

    Like

  3. Emily’s granddad recently and randomly gave us a $20 bill and we all went immediately to get ice cream…I remember my great grandma giving me $1 periodically when I was a kid to get an icecream cone…golly I love that!

    Like

Leave a Reply

