Way Back-whensday Hodgepodge

Standard

Hi Guys, thanks for stopping by! If you would like to link up, click on the button below to head over to Joyce’s, she would be glad to have you!

1. Something on your October calendar that makes you smile?

We have a vacation coming in October, that can always bring a smile! Two weeks in Bonita Springs will cure what ails you 🙂 I am always glad to get Honey out of Dodge. He is so chronically busy and tired that it takes a few days for him to catch up on sleep and relax. By the end of the first week I always think “oh, I remember you!!!”
2. Food for the soul or music for the soul…which camp are you in? Tell us why.

I think I may have to straddle both camps. Food is not as important to me as it is to my people, but I have to say that we do a lot of gathering and visiting over the food, thereby making it more important than it otherwise might be. For example, last weekend we went out for dinner at Outback. The food was good, but I enjoyed the conversations with Honey and the Girls far more!

Music has its finer points though. I sometimes tell the kids my recollections or age when I hear an oldie but goodie song and that is always a conversation starter. A good worship song can feed the soul like almost nothing else. Sometimes I hear a song and I’m sure we will sing that in heaven before the King!

3. What are two or three things you’ve learned recently as the result of an online search?

I did not know Siberia, Russia was so close to Alaska! I just finished a book that was partly based in Leningrad, Russia and ended in Alaska. I wondered how close they were together. Turns out they are not close at all but Siberia is. I was mentioning this all to Honey and I asked him how did we get Alaska and Canada didn’t? It’s attached to Canada for goodness sake! He then told me to Google Seward’s Folly and read up on how the U.S purchased Alaska from Russia for about 7 million dollars. He then told me to Google Churchill, Manitoba, polar bears. I did not know there were polar bears in Canada! I guess I did a little learning!

I don’t know how we ever used to watch tv without the ipad. We are constantly asking a question and then looking it up. CONSTANTLY.

4. Share your favorite game day recipe. You can describe it, post the how-to, or add a link to the actual recipe.

I do not have a game day recipe, I feel a little un American saying that. 

5. What are your five essential steps for creating the perfect morning routine?

Wake up at a respectable time (NOT 3 in the morning!), pray a little before my feet hit the floor, have a delicious cup of chai, engage in a little iPad-ing, go for a walk in cooler temperatures. Sounds good to me!
6. What small thing have you taken note of today?

While Keelyody and I were walking yesterday we noticed a lot of leaves already turning. She went up to northern Michigan last weekend to see the color and she said we have way more down here!
7. Sum up your September in seven words or less.

Garage cleaned, BSF started, bring on fall!
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Now for Way Back When-sday part of the post

This was us in 2010, our 25th anniversary! Standing before the RAYS OF GOD in the Gulf of Mexico. This year is our 30th, we will try and recreate the shot, hope we can capture the RAYS OF GOD again. Honey says that loudly whenever he sees them! Maybe next year, if Honey retires at the end of this year, we will take that Mediterranean cruise!

There’s my guy, I like his face!

Thanks for stopping by, enjoy the start of October. And the finish. The middle too.

7 responses »

  1. I saw your comment about the band singer. It was sad to read about his death. Did you see he left a note saying I am a lonely soul? So sad. In happier news…Happy 30th! I wish I were spending two weeks on the Gulf! Have so much fun!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

