Wednesday Hodgepodge

Standard

Hi Guys, so glad you stopped by! If you would like to join us, click on the button below and head over to Joyce’s and follow the instructions.

1. What’s surprised you most about your life, or about life in general?

That time passes so quickly when you are a grown up!

When I was a kid time passed so slowly, summers seemed a sweet forever, but now every time I turn around it’s Christmas or end of school year or everything is starting back up in the fall. It seems like yesterday that our children were young and life was busy and full. Life is still busy and full but it feels different,

I am quite aware that I am a 53 year old woman (I feel it!), but sometimes I can still remember how it felt to be a 23 year old woman. How did 30 years fly so fast?!

2. Among others, these ten words were added to the Oxford English Dictionary this year…awesomesauce, beer o’clock, brain fart, buttdial, cat cafe (apparently this is a real thing), fatberg (gross-read the definition here), fat shame, hangry, Mx (gender neutral), and skippable.

Your thoughts? In looking over the list, which word do you find most ridiculous? Which word would you never in a million years say out loud? Which word would you be most likely to use in conversation?

I think Mx is the most ridiculous because I don’t understand the current preoccupation with trying to erase gender.

I don’t even know what cat cafe and fatberg are and the latter sounds disgusting.

I would probably never say beer o’clock and would only say awesomesauce mockingly.

I would be most likely to use butt dial(because I have!) and hangry (which I have BEEN) in conversation

.3. Do you like gravy? Is there a food you’d rather not eat unless it comes with gravy? Do you make your own or buy the canned or store-made variety? Turkey and gravy, sausage gravy, mashed potatoes and gravy, country ham and red eye gravy, biscuits and chocolate gravy, pot roast and gravy…which one on the list is your favorite?

I am a fan of gravy! I don’t think I could eat turkey without gravy on it.

We make our own gravy, and by we I mean usually Honey. I do make a mean pot roast with gravy though. How about pot roast with mashed potatoes and gravy? That’s my fave.
4. Do you have a plan? Do you need a plan? Have you ever had a plan fall into a trillion pieces? Explain.

I am not opposed to a plan but I don’t always need a plan. I am pretty good at flying by the seat of my pants.

It has been my experience that life does not always turn out how you plan it and if I had been a highly structured, stick to the plan type person I would have had a miserable life. My life has been better served by a more flexible, bloom where you are planted, turn lemons into lemonade, ok I guess we are going this way attitude.

The Ab-Cat’s spinal cord injury and The Boy’s years with chronic ITP were never part of any plan we imagined.

I will say it is helpful to know that God has a plan, even if I don’t know it. And He has been faithful to come along side us as we were walking through all those trillion pieces of broken plan.

5. November 19 is National Play Monopoly Day. Do you own the original or some version of the game? Do you enjoy playing Monopoly? How likely is it you’ll play a game of Monopoly on November 19th? Ever been to Atlantic City? Ever taken a ride on a railroad? Is parking in your town free? Last thing you took a chance on?

We do own Monopoly, and I have enjoyed playing but have not played in a L.O.N.G time. It is highly unlikely that I will play on November 19.

I have not been to Atlantic City, have taken rides on a railroad, YAY we have free parking. I can’t think of the last thing I took a chance on. I try and be sure footed so it would not have been very risky.
6. A song you like that has the word (or some form of the word) thanks in the title, lyrics, or meaning?

This is a hymn we used to sing at the church I grew up in. So sweet, so meaningful, so true.

Thank you, Lord, for saving my soul
Thank you, Lord, for making me whole
Thank you, Lord, for giving to me
Thy great salvation so rich and free

7. In keeping with this month’s theme of gratitude….what is something you’re taking for granted that when you stop and think about it, you’re grateful for?

I think I take my car, Juanita, for granted. She has been so reliable that when her engine light came on the other night I was shocked! I take for granted that she will start each time I turn the key in the ignition, that her wheels will carry me where I need to go, in comfort I might add, and that she won’t act inappropriately while we travel.

I am not a car person so brand is not essential for me. My first car was an AMC Hornet that was pretty rusty and I always told Honey that I don’t care that much what I have but I don’t want to drive a Bondo buggy! He has honored my request.

Anyway, when Juanita’s engine light came on I was worried. What if it was serious? Honey tinkered on her a bit yesterday morning, tightening up a few hoses and I am happy to say the light is off! And I am GRATEFUL!!!!!
8. Insert your own random thought here.

Honey and I just returned from 2 weeks in Bonita Springs, Florida. While there Honey enjoys looking at the real estate books and he is always game to visit the model homes. I like to look at them as well, especially the kitchens! This was my very favorite kitchen and it’s ALL because of the island!!! Sincere, deep, persistent WANT! Our next house needs to have a giant island!

IMG_1016

I was also very impressed with this craft area/wrapping station located in the laundry room!!!!

IMG_1023

Here is the other end but WHO CARES ABOUT THAT END???!!!

IMG_1025

I have a great laundry room but I do NOT have an island in there!!

Filing away for future reference! 🙂

Thanks for stopping by!

8 responses »

  1. Hmmm…an island in the laundry room makes so much sense. That is not in my house plan, and I’m not sure the room is large enough, but I do like the idea. No more dumping clothes on the bed to fold, although that system does inspire me to put them away : ) I like your plan answer. Enjoy your day!

    Like

  2. Welcome home, hope you had a great vacation. When our kids were little, we had a huge island, it was great for serving dinner and eating around.

    Like

Leave a Reply

