Wednesday Hodgepodge

Standard

Happy Thanksgiving Y’All, thanks for stopping by! If you would like to join the Hodgepodger’s, click on the button below to head over to Joyce’s and link up. Thanks for having us all over Joyce!l

1.What’s something you wish you knew how to do, but feel like it’s too late to learn?

When I first read this question I thought of many, many answers! But then, as I thought about them, I realized that there really was no reason that I could not learn them now if my desire was great enough and my will was strong. And therein lies the problem. Sure, I would like to have learned to be a better cook, seamstress, jewelry maker, photographer, gardener, adventurer, but I guess I lacked the will (or time) to apply myself. I always seem to want to do the things I have no natural talent for.

BUT, there is still time, it may not be too late!!!

2. Your least favorite thing to shop for? Why?

Bathing suits and automotive paraphernalia.

Bathing suits because no one wants to look at all of their imperfections in several mirrors with unkind lighting. Plus, there is no other thing that makes me feel like my body is is a one of a kind, and I don’t mean that in a good way. Seriously? No one else needs an underwire AND a little skirt thingy to cover….stuff???

Automotive stuff because car stuff makes my eyes glaze over. Plus it smells weird in those stores.
3. How has the celebration of Thanksgiving today changed from when you were growing up?

For the most part not much has changed. It’s still a time to gather and be thankful with loved ones. And eat yummy food!!!!

The biggest change is that my Mother and Grandmother are no longer with us. In her honor we will use my Mom’s china tomorrow and I will make the cornbread dressing recipe that we finally got nailed down the Christmas before she passed away. I am going to make the cornbread for our dressing right now and I will use my Grandma’s pink pyrex, as I always do 🙂

Oh, and I don’t recall shopping on Thanksgiving evening. Do we really need that to be a thing?
4. What’s something that when other people see it, reminds them of you? Explain.

I had to ask my people about that. The Ab-Cat said lilacs. Honey said cake. Mousey did not answer her text.

Honey did send me this, he said it reminded him of me. Sad but true.

IMG_1094

So I ask you, Readers who know me in the real world, what reminds you of me when you see it? Don’t leave me hanging, that would be embarrassing!

5. If you could guest star in a TV show, what would it be and why?

How about Tricia’s Southern Kitchen? Tricia Yearwood seems like a fun gal, we could be pals, and we could eat too!
6. Have you ever farmed or spent any time on a farm? Are there farm stands in your little corner of the world and do you make it a point to shop there? If so, what item do you particularly like to buy from a roadside stand or farm shop?

Our people on both sides were farmers but I have not spent much time on a farm. I did spend a little time at my Aunt Lottie’s in Tennessee one summer when I was about 6. I have 2 very clear memories, the best was there were kittens in the barn!!!! But they were wild and not very snuggly and I have probably never had so many scratches in my life. The second memory was I rode my first horse, until it went under a clothes line and i got knocked to the ground. I guess I am not Farmer Kel.

We don’t really have roadside stands in our town, the two I am thinking of may have started out as that but they are basically stores now. Honey stops at a couple on his way home from work sometimes. He usually goes for the tomatoes.
7. What’s something you’ve experienced recently that made you feel a sense of awe or wonder?

Our study at BSF this week was Revelation chapter 5. In verse 9 there was a line that said Jesus was worthy because He was slain, and with His blood He purchased men for God, men from every tribe, language, people and nation.

I was struck that He purchased me with His lifeblood, for God. I was one of those people. He did that for me, and you. Awe AND wonder!
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Well, The Boy and The Dane were on their way to The Mitten yesterday for Thanksgiving when they, and some others, ran over something in the road. Most had 1 but The Boy had 2 flat tires and had to be towed off the freeway. The car is currently at a Sears in Michigan City, Indiana, awaiting new tires, a rim and an alignment before they can get back on the road tomorrow. While it is not the best way to start a holiday, we are very thankful that he did not lose control of the car, and they were fairly close to a place where they could get some tires and find some food and a place to sleep. Thank you Lord!!

Have a wonderful Thanksgiving!!!

3 responses »

  1. Oh yikes! So glad your son and daughter in law are safe. Thanksgiving is the worst when it comes to travel. Something that makes me think of you? Well I don’t know you in ‘real life’ but when I hear someone mention BSF you come to mind. Better than menopause, right? Happy Thanksgiving!

    Like

  2. When I see peoples’ photos that were taken in front of the Bear Fountain at the Detroit Zoo, I think of you and our old small group. When I see the words “Chatham, Ontario” I think of you (actually I think of your Honey).

    Like

Leave a Reply

