Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Standard

Hi Guys, I am super late to the party today. I wrote my entire post last night and was all ready to go this morning when I discovered the computer did a bit of housekeeping and BOOM, cleaned my post right up. I will see if I can duplicate it 😦

Thank you to Joyce for giving us something to chat about every week!

1. Did you watch The Charlie Brown Christmas special Monday night? Who’s your favorite Peanuts character and why?

I didn’t but I have seen it many, many times before. I am always surprised that I can recall so many of the lines! This is no small feat because back in my day those Christmas programs only came on once a year, no repeats, no VCR or DVR or DVD. I know, we were practically cave men. But OH, we were SO excited to watch those shows once a year!!!!

I think I have always had a soft spot for Charlie Brown. He was kind of pathetic and probably needed a friend.

“Most psychiatrists agree that sitting in a pumpkin patch is excellent therapy for a troubled mind.”~Linus 
Would you agree?

I agree, we could all use a little pondering in a quiet pumpkin patch. We have a lot of troubled minds in our society and bit of reflection and critical examination never hurt anyone.

2. Describe a sound from your childhood. What does this sound bring to mind?

The theme songs to Lost in Space, here and here. Man did we LOVE that show!!! It brings to mind watching and rewatching it in reruns, and my brother and I playing it endlessly in the basement. We were really, really good at throwing ourselves around in pretend earthquakes or space turbulence!!!! What can I say, we liked peril!

I heard that the series is being rebooted on Netflix, be still my heart!!! I predict that Beeve and I will be all over that one!!!!

3. You’ve won a trip to a winter wonderland…would that excite you? Which one of the following would you most want to experience (or which one would you dislike the least)-see the Aurora Borealis in Norway, stay in Sweden’s Ice Hotel, go dogsledding in Lapland Finland, take a winter wildlife safari in Yellowstone or celebrate Winter Carnival in Quebec?

Woo Hoo, a trip!!! I think I might pick the winter wildlife safari in Yellowstone. The guides probably know where to take you to see real, live ani-mules and we could ride in a heated van, sounds like a winner to me! Plus the scenery must be breathtaking!

I am thinking I would not like to go dogsledding. Probably too brisk for me!

4. Who or what keeps you humble?

That is the Lord’s work. I pray for humility and for Him to convict me of things in my life that don’t please Him, and He does. I  have lived long enough to know that on my own I am not so suchy muchy.

5. What part of preparing for Christmas do you like the most? Explain.

I like to do a little decorating, baking, shopping and wrapping, I just don’t like it when it becomes all consuming. That hasn’t happened since the kids were small, I jettisoned a lot of that hustle and bustle a long time ago and we are the better for it.

What I would like to do is prepare my heart. I don’t have much experience with Advent but I have been reading about it in the blog world for a few years now and I think I would like to try it. I picked this up today. Here goes.

 IMG_1136 (1)

6. Gingerbread-yay or nay? Is making a gingerbread house part of your family holiday tradition?

  I am not opposed but I do not make it. I think we have made a house or two but that activity was mainly done at school. It sounds like a fun thing to try with grandchildren!

7. What’s one thing you want to start, do, or complete before the calendar rolls into a new year?

  How about the above mentioned Advent thingy.

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Here is the Way Back When-sday part of the post!

Yesterday was my brother Beeve’s 49th birthday! WOW!!!!!

It’s just the two of us. I can’t remember life without him and he has never lived life without me.

IMG_1952 (1)

I am thankful that we have always lived near each other, except for the 4 years he was a U.S. Marine. Oh my goodness, he looks like a child!

IMG_1134 (1)

He is a lot of fun to be around. His laugh is like our Grandma Hoovers, when he giggles I hear her!

IMG_2189 (1)

He has had many different types of hair styles and facial fur. I do the hair, he does the fur. As a matter of fact I have been doing things to his hair since before I even went to cosmetology school! He was my first guinea pig!

IMG_2192 (1)

He is a great uncle and our kids adore him!

IMG_3055 (1)

Their squirt gun fights are the stuff of legends. If only in our family 🙂

IMG_2791 (1)

He is a very kind man and he has never met a stranger. We both can talk to just about anyone, we get it from our Mama.

IMG_2226 (1)

Loved his Mother and his Grandma. Here are the twin gigglers.

IMG_2227 (1)

He loves the Lord, his wife Stacey and his son Goomba.

Attachment-1 (1)

We are connected. We share a bond and strong family genes. I am thankful to have him.

IMG_3054 (2)

He’s a keeper!

Thanks for stopping by!

4 responses »

  1. I like the Ann Voskamp read a lot, and have done that one the past two Christmases. I too am late to the Advent bandwagon, but now find having a reading plan and beginning my day with it really helps me keep my Christmas focus where it needs to be. This year my daughters asked me to do one with them and they love She Reads Truth, so we’re using that one. So far I’m enjoying it a lot. My girls and I have a Skype date today to share thoughts, which we’re trying to do once a week. Happy December!

    Like

Leave a Reply

