Wednesday Hodgepodge

Standard

Welcome to the last Hodgepodge before Christmas! I’m glad you could stop by. If you would like to join us click on the button below and head over to link up at Joyce’s, there is always room for more!

1. What’s your biggest ‘first world’ problem?

I talk about it in number 8. Our cats keep knocking over our Christmas tree.

2.  Each year Time Magazine names a ‘Person of the Year’, someone who has ‘for better or worse…done the most to influence the events of the year.’ It was recently announced they’ve named Angela Merkel Person of the Year for 2015. You can read more about this year’s selection here. Your thoughts? If you were in charge, who would you declare Person of the Year?

 Well she certainly has been in the news this year. I haven’t followed super closely to all of it but I do wonder if she will live to regret taking so many displaced refugees into her country, especially when her countrymen were not all supportive. I think we are going to be hearing about all of this for years to come. I don’t have another suggestion, I can’t even remember what happened in January! I did look at the list of the others being considered and I guess she was a better choice than a lot of them.
3. Do you have a nativity set in your home? If so share it’s history and how you display the pieces.

We have three. This little one my Mom gave the kids years ago. They were always rearranging the folks, especially Mousey. Whether they were in a line or square, circle or all jammed up together, Jesus was usually in the center, as He should be.

This year Sy has been a little disrespectful to the holy family and I have had to set them back up.

IMG_1162 (1)

We also have these two, also given to us by my Mom.  I brought her angels home after she passed away. I have another nativity with the same pieces only all white. My Grandma gave us that one shortly after we married. Maybe I will get that one out again some year.

IMG_1163

4.  Do you make an extra effort to give back in some way during the holiday season? How do you encourage those who need encouragement this time of year?

Our church has set a challenge to raise a certain amount of money for World Orphans, who are currently setting up safe havens for the displaced refugees of Syria and Iraq. We also help with support on two residences for about 40 young boys/men. In the past they have used funds to help them with buildings and a well.

There is also a theological seminary, B.E.S.T,  that we have partnered with for years. They have been greatly used by the Lord lately to provide safety for refugees of the civil wars in Africa. Our pastor was telling us on Sunday that the Pope heard about all they have been trying to do to help those in need. He was so impressed that he visited them!

And there is always BSF. It is a world wide Bible study and it does not cost to attend, but there are lessons to print and ship. Our country probably supplies the majority of funds to send lessons to China, India and Africa, among other places. It is our pleasure to give to these organizations that are the hands and feet of God in providing food, shelter and other necessities, as well as taking Jesus to a world that needs to hear why He cares about them..
5. Who is your favorite person to shop for? Why?

Don’t have one. I like shopping for everyone.
6. What’s the last delicious thing you ate?

I had a delicious steak the other night with the gals from Birthday Club at Black Rock.
7. The best way to spread Christmas cheer is________________.

Singing loud for all to hear? Isn’t that what Buddy the Elf said??

How about I say the best way to spread Christmas cheer is being patient, polite and friendly. I have already seen some pretty poor examples in stores and parking lots. People, get a grip! Do you really think you are the only one with things to do and places to go? Sheesh!

8. Insert your own random thought here.

We did not put up a Christmas tree last year because Sy had only been living with us a month and he was getting in trouble enough without the temptation of a tree with dangly enticements hanging from it. Our solution was to dig up a ceramic Christmas tree that has been in a box in our basement for a sweet forever.

IMG_1291

Kind of pitiful, but there were no mishaps and no one went to prison for destruction of public property. In an effort to have a little more festive tree, I went to Michael’s to purchase a 4 1/2 ft tabletop tree. Here we are.

IMG_1149

This tree has resulted in a lot of spritzing with the spray bottle and the repetitive yelling of NO!!!!!!!!

IMG_1146

It was irresistible. Like catnip, with branches.

IMG_1147

I woke up to this. In Sy’s defense, the Ab-Cat actually witnessed this vandalism and lo and behold, it was the elder old ladies who brought it down. They work in tandem, like The Mob.

IMG_3066

This was the scene this morning. 

IMG_1166

I am going to call this experiment a failure and box it back up. Pitiful ceramic tree, here we come.

IMG_1167

Thanks for stopping by, enjoy this last week before the hectic really sets in!

8 responses »

  1. Bless his heart.

    We have a boxer puppy, although she’s only 9 months old, she is pretty big. This is her first Christmas and she’s been very good about the tree and decorations, including a gingerbread house and gingerbread nativity.

    Wishing you and yours a Merry Christmas.

    Like

  2. My daughter’s pup is obsessed with the Christmas tree skirt. She didn’t put any ornaments on the bottom half of the tree but he doesn’t seem to interested in the tree itself. He has a thing for fabric. No dish towel is safe either : ) The cat pics are funny. I know I wouldn’t think so if it were my house, but those of us in the audience are smiling! Merry Christmas!

    Like

  3. Well, thank you posting. Must admit I laughed out loud. Hmm, makes me worry about what Stella will do when she arrives. I might not be laughing then!

    Like

  4. I always enjoy stopping by your blog to read about the Dewaele family episodes. I didn’t realize Christmas is a week from today. The girls are hosting Christmas Eve ( Nikole) and Christmas Day ( Kristine) I added more decorations this year. When my sister visited we hit every dollar store I could think of!!! But it was fun having her here. Miss you Lots and LOTS bunches and BUNCHES!!! Merry Merry Christmas 🎄🎄🎄 Sy is hysterical !!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

