Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Standard

Happy New Year! Thanks for stopping by and a special thanks to our hostess Joyce who gathers us together each week and gives us something to talk about! Click on the button below if you would like to join us.

1. Are you ready for new? Is 2016 likely to be very different than 2015? Do you want it to be?

I am ready for new! I would hope it would be some different. We will be one year closer to Honey’s retirement and one year older and wiser! There are some things I have been praying about in 2015 that I hope will come to fruition. Waiting can be hard, but God regularly lets me know that His timing is not my timing.
2. January 6th is National Technology Day. Currently, what is your single biggest struggle or frustration when it comes to technology?

It may seem a little broad, but it frustrates me greatly when the computer won’t let me do what I want to do! There must be a technological way of thinking that I do not possess. Some things just plain do not make sense or else you need information that you learned in some secret club to pull it all together.

Here is a for instance. Our computer shut down to do a little maintenance last month and when it came back on it makes me log in EVERY SINGLE time I go to use it. It did not do that before and I have looked and looked to find out where I might disable that annoying feature but alas, no idea where that might be. Why wouldn’t it be where you can change other things on your desktop?? See? Makes no sense!

3. It’s that time again…time for Lake Superior University to present a list of words (or phrases) they’d like to see banished (for over-use, mis-use, and general uselessness) in 2016. You can read more about the decision making process here, but this year’s top vote getters are-
So (at the start of every single sentence), conversation (as in hotly debated topics where we’re invited to ‘join the conversation’), problematic, stakeholder, price point, secret sauce, break the Internet, walk it back, presser, manspreading (common in larger cities where some men take up the entire bus or train seat by sitting wide), vape, giving me life (refers to anything that may excite a person or make them laugh), and physicality
Which of these words/phrases would you most like to see banished from everyday speech and why? Is there a word not on the list you’d like to add?

I am even more out of touch than I might have imagined. I have only heard of two of these! I know what vaping is and I unfortunately know what “break the Internet” is because of a certain classless woman and her backside. I guess I would get rid of that one because of that.

4. Share one of your current health related goals.

I would greatly enjoy losing about 15 pounds. Honey is looking to join me so hopefully we can spur each on! It’s good to have goals.

5. Let’s talk fifty shades of gray. As in the color. Gray is currently a popular color in home decor, paint, wardrobes, hair, wedding party attire, and more. Are you a fan? Do you have the color in some variation in your home or wardrobe?  Gray hair, the old gray mare, gray matter, gray area…which gray idiom can you most relate to right now?

I like to wear grey but other than that, not so much. Honey and I had grey in our first three homes, and while I can like it fine in yours, I am not excited to have it again in mine. I also spend time every month banishing a line of silver grey from my hair.

I have used the idiom “the old grey mare, she ain’t what she used to be” many times describing myself! All those things I took for granted! Eating whatever I wanted, a flat tummy, SLEEPING, not sweating, many less aches and pains, the above mentioned grey hairs! I just keep telling myself that Jesus is renewing my mind. It will have to do.

6. Certain foods are considered ‘lucky’ if eaten on New Year’s Eve or New Year’s Day. Cooked greens to bring economic fortune, black-eyed peas or lentils also symbolize money, pork which symbolizes progress, fish for good luck, and if you’re in Spain 12 grapes at the stroke of midnight. Did you eat any lucky foods on the first day of the year? Is that a tradition in your home? Of the foods listed, which most appeals to you?

We did not have a single lucky food! Wait, I take it back, we all had a little halibut when we had our fondue on New Years Day! It was yummy!
7. What’s the single biggest time waster in your life and what, if anything, will you do about it this year?

The iPad for sure. By the time I check the blogs I read, Instagram, Facebook, the news, and email, a lot of time could have been wasted. And that’s not even including Pinterest, Words With Friends or a couple quick games of Rainbow Jewels, Jewel Quest or Penguin Solitaire. YIKES.

I should probably set some limits for myself. I have to say though, the above is nor every day. Lots of days are busy and I don’t do the majority of it. But when I do……
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Here is the Way Back When-sday part of the post. Let’s go back around 1986, to the GREY couch we had in our first 3 houses.

There’s my purty Mama on Christmas Eve in our first home in Windsor, Ontario, Canada! This is how I often picture her, laughing. I have no idea what she was finding hilarious!

IMG_1314

Thanks for stopping by, hope you have a good January!

8 responses »

  1. 🙂 I am with you on the amount of time I spend with blogs, Facebook, etc. I need to retire so I have more time to do these things! Have a super, awesome week!
    🙂 Melissa

    Like

  2. What a great picture of your mother!

    My computer also started making me log in every time I want to use it. I’ve gotten used to it, but I would still prefer it not do that. If you ever find a fix for that I hope you share. 🙂

    Like

  3. I am going to adopt your mantra-Jesus is renewing my mind : ) I related to everything on your list. Solidarity-ha! I’m not in the secret computer knowledge club either. It is problematic. Happy new year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

