Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Standard

Howdy! Glad you stopped by! My thanks to Joyce for gathering us all together and giving us something to talk about!

1. Share one thing that really makes your day.

A good conversation with Honey or the kids can be a bright spot! Connection and laughter are my favorites.

2. Lots of these kinds of lists out there, but one found here says the fifteen most colorful places on earth are:

Vernazza, Cinque Terre, Italy~Burano, Italy~Havana, Cuba~Rio de Janiero, Brazil~Chefchaouen, Morocco~Balat, Istanbul, Turkey~Menton, France~Jodhpur, India~La Baca, Buenos Aires, Argentina~Guanajuato, Mexico~Capetown, South Africa~Valparaiso, Chile~Wroclaw, Poland~San Francisco, California~and Pelourhino, Salvador, Brazil. 

Of those listed which would you most like to see up close and in person? Of all the places you’ve seen or traveled in your own life, what would you say was one of the most colorful?

I don’t have a huge desire to go to some of those places, such as Turkey, at the moment. Let’s say Italy because we have been wanting to visit the land of Honey’s people anyway.

3.“Everything you want is on the other side of fear.” Jack Canfield  In general, would you agree or disagree with that statement? Why?

I do not agree. I don’t even really understand it. The things I want are not on the other side of fear. Is this supposed to be advice to people fearful of going after a dream or goal? Bravely pushing through to your desired achievement? Some people are just fraidy cats, so maybe everything they want is on the other side of fear.

The Lord tells me not to fear.

Isaiah 41:13

For I am the Lord your God
who takes hold of your right hand
and says to you, Do not fear;
I will help you.

I would be lying if I said I had no fears, because of course I do. Some are unrealistic and some are the reality of my life. Sharks, quicksand, poisonous snakes and velociraptors are unlikely to be a deterrent to my happiness. Issues with safety, accidents, fears of brutality against my loved ones, these are real fears, but I don’t think they rule my life. They don’t keep me from what I want, and I don’t feel I need to push through them. They are concerns that I regularly take to the Lord.

  I have learned through experience in the darkest hours of my life, when there was great cause for fear, the Lord is faithful, was holding our hands and helping us, and will indeed be our firm foundation.

4. Imagine you’re stranded on a desert island and dessert appears…what do you hope it is? Do you ever struggle to remember which spelling is desert and which is dessert?

I think I used to have that struggle, but not in a long time  🙂

Hmmmm, i am not known to have a set in stone favorite dessert, I like to say that I am an equal opportunity dessert eater. But the last few years I have really enjoyed Mrs. Davis’ coconut pound cake an inordinate amount!


5. What song almost always makes you cry?

I used to cry every time I heard I’ll Be Home For Christmas, and then it just stopped! There Goes My Life by Kenny Chesney can get me sometimes.. Some worship songs are particularly emotional depending on what is going on in my life.

6. January is National Soup Month.  Everything from soup to nuts, in the soup, thick as pea soup, souped up…which saying most recently applies to your life in some way? Explain.

We have had some fog and snow lately that have been as thick as pea soup!
7. Write a two word note to your younger self. What does it say?

Buy Microsoft!!!!
8. Insert your own random thought here.

On this Way Back When-sday we go back to when little Mousey girl fell asleep on her Mama! Heart, heart, H.E.A.R.T.!

IMG_0243

Thanks for stopping by!

8 responses »

  1. I don’t understand question 3 either, but love your answer. There are so many more obstacles than just fear..some have nothing to do with anything I have control of. #5, On Eagles Wings.

    Like

Leave a Reply

