Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Standard

Hi Guys, glad you dropped by! If you would like to link up, click on the button below to head over to Joyce’s.

1.  Speaking of skating…when did you last ‘skate on thin ice’, ‘skate over the details’, ‘encounter a cheapskate’, or just plain skate?

I could not tell you the last time I ice skated!  It would be a pretty dangerous proposition for me at this age, I fall a LOT harder than I used to!

I was evidently skating on thin ice last week when my cars battery died after I arrived at my Bible study. Ignorance was bliss!

2. What would you say is the biggest problem of people your age?

There are so many! Weight, menopause, eyesight, health, energy, poor sleep and MEMORY! Let’s say energy because if I had that I might be more equipped to handle some of the others.

3. What’s your favorite accessory? Is it something you wear every day, often, or only on special occasions?

I am going to say my silver Capri bell that I wear every day on a necklace. It was given to me by my friend The Oreo Mom when she and her husband traveled to Capri Italy several years ago.

She knew that I run with a group of gals and we call ourselves The Capri’s. They are all related by blood or marriage, sisters Capri L, who is also known as Mrs. Schmenkman, Capri P, and Capri Laurie and  their sister in laws Capri D and Capri A. They graciously have allowed me to crash their family party because I have my own blood and marriage!

They are also jealous of my Capri stuff. My Aunt Phyllis gave me this Capri tote bag.

IMG_3312

And here is the little bell from Deb The Oreo Mom! I love nifty necklaces on others but I am not a fan of them on myself. I pretty much wear this everyday, along with my wedding ring and watch and a nifty bracelet. I feel very comfortable in my favorite accessory! I think the other Capri’s may be a tad jealous of my Capri-wear!

IMG_2953

4. January 20th is National Cheese Lover’s Day. Are you a lover of cheese? What’s your favorite dish made with cheese? Last thing you ate that contained some kind of cheese?

I AM a lover of cheese! Lots of kinds too! Grilled chicken on a fatoosh with feta, Tuna melt, patty melt, Honey’s spaghetti sauce with Parmesan, cream cheese on an Asiago bagel, sharp cheddar on crackers, Honey’s mac and cheese, and many more yummy things! The last cheese I had was on my burger last night at Birthday Club.

5. What’s something guaranteed to make you roll your eyes?

Another one with multiple answers. I roll my eyes when people whine about their extreme busyness, without taking responsibility for the fact that they are the ones cramming their schedule. There are seasons of life that are naturally busy but a lot of the issue is poor planning and an inability to be reasonable. Who is in control of you? Sometimes you need to say no thank you.

6. Your favorite book series?

I am going to have to go with the Laura Ingalls Wilder, Little House series. I have read that series so many times, as a child and several times with my own children or by myself. I heart them so. I hope little girls and boys are still reading them, I know they meant a great deal to me. It was wonderful to have a glimpse of life in another era.

7. Why did you choose your profession?

I don’t think it was a lifelong dream to be a hairdresser but the skill surfaced in my teens. I always liked to do my own, and often others hair. My poor brother was a total guinea pig in so many areas!

I couldn’t think of anything I really wanted to pursue, so after working full time at other things for several years I decided to give it a whirl.  It has been a good job for me. Except for the couple times, when our kids were having severe health issues, I have always worked, some years more than others. It was very flexible/ working from home,  so I could schedule dr appointments, therapy, school volunteering and field trips and Bible studies around all of the beautification! 

8. Insert your own random thought here. 

Here I am with my brother Beeve in 1969! We had a couple of sweeeeeet rides!

IMG_3317

Thanks for stopping by!

8 responses »

  1. I enjoyed the Little House books too. My son wound up reading On the Banks Of Plum Creek in school earlier this year. He wasn’t as into it as I was… 😦

    Like

  2. I love the photo! We had the same car : ) I have been to Capri…I was green from the ferry ride, so did not fully enjoy the day like I might have if I hadn’t been struggling to find my land legs. It’s a lovely island though!

    Like

  3. I enjoyed your answers. I agree with people who complain about their packed lives. I usually respond with, “You need to learn to say no!” Have a great week!

    Like

  4. I love the Little House books, too! Have you read “Pioneer Girl”? It’s the facts/truths behind Laura and her family. Love the photo of you and your brother. I had a car like that when I was a kid. Great memories!

    Like

Leave a Reply

