Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Standard

Hi Guys, glad you stopped by! If you would like to link up, click on the button below to head over to Joyce’s place and follow the instructions.

1. Share a winter memory from your childhood.

I remember playing outside in the snow for WAY too long and then having it take a sweet forever to peel yourself out of your snow pants and all of the other layers you had on!!! it was a given that your fingers were so cold they barely worked and you probably had to go to the bathroom!

2. What was on your blog this time last year? (Besides the Hodgepodge of course!) If you weren’t blogging, what in the world were you doing with all that free time?

 I was starting up this new blog after using up all of the space on my last WordPress blog! I was also Hodgepodging and I saw that our hostess Joyce was digging out from yet another east coast snowstorm over in New Jersey. Good times, right Joyce?!

3. Ellen Goodman is quoted as saying, ‘We spend January 1 walking through our lives, room by room, drawing up a list of work to be done, cracks to be patched. Maybe this year, to balance the list, we ought to walk through the rooms of our lives…not looking for flaws, but for potential.’
Do you see more flaws or more potential in your life at the start of a new year? Have you done anything specific this month to address either one? Does the new year truly begin for you on January 1, or is there some other month of the year that feels like a fresh start and new beginning?

I actually think the start of the school year feels like more of a new start. Old habits die hard I guess.

I think I am basically optimistic by nature so I will say I see potential. There are always plenty of flaws in life, I don’t think you need to walk around looking for them.

We are dealing with some thorny issues over here and I am addressing them with prayer. Pretty sure that is the best possible way to deal with things anyway. I am hopeful that the Lord will let us know how to proceed because we are at a total loss, There is always potential for resolution if God is in it.
4. Who’s an athlete you admire or respect and why?

I am not typically aware of many athletes, so I don’t know that I am qualified to answer this question. It seems like the ones I hear the most about are mainly due to poor behavior.

5. Do you like cream in your coffee? Whipped cream on your pumpkin pie? Cream cheese on a bagel? Sour cream on a baked potato? Cream of wheat for breakfast? Have you ever had a scone with clotted cream? Of all the creamy foods mentioned, which one sounds most appealing to you right this very minute?

I like all of those things except I don’t think I have ever experienced clotted cream. I’m hungry right now so I think I will say a baked potato with butter and sour cream.
6. Where were you last kept waiting for ‘hours on end’? Or for what felt like hours on end? How well did you cope?

The last time I waited for hours on end was last month when my Dad was having surgery to remove a kidney stone. They took him at around 5 in the evening and said it would be around 2 hours. Over 4 1/2 hours later they finally brought him back! I coped very well though, I went and ate at Einstein Bagels, texted a bit, played Free cell, and read a book I had brought. If there is one thing I have learned in my life,  hospital time is not our time!
7. Believe it or not, when next week’s Hodgepodge rolls around it will be February. Huh?!? Bid adieu here to January in seven words or less.

February is one month closer to spring!!!!!
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Here is the Way Back When-sday part of the post.

Back in the spring my Dad brought over a big box of pictures. I have been meaning to go through them ever since, but you know, sometimes you just don’t get around to things. I went through and did a rough sorting and it was so fun to see some of the pictures my Mom had gathered over the years! I know there are a lot more somewhere because these were mostly our kids from the early 90s with a strange assortment of all other ages sprinkled in, not really any from when Beeve and I were little. Plus a lot belonged to my Dad, so now he has a box to take home and go through!

This one is of me and the back says 9/64, so I would have been 2. I think I remember my Mother telling me one time that my surprised look was because I saw a picture of myself!

IMG_3356

This is Beeve and I with our Grandma Georgia. She was a great gal and I will miss her and her wisdom for the rest of my life. We were so tan! It says April1980 in the corner but I am suspicious. It was more likely from the summer of 1979 and my Mom had them developed in April of 80! We could not have been that tan by April already!

IMG_3355 (1)

I think this was taken by one of my sister in laws, Linda or Rachel, at The Anderdon (think that was the name) in Windsor or Amherstburg, Ontario, Canada when Honey and I were first dating! It may have been the first time I ever met them! Any thoughts Linda?? It was 1984.

IMG_3357

Awww, there is our first Baby Girl playing patty cake with her Grandpa!! The Ab-Cat was 3 months old here according to my Mom’s writing on the back.

IMG_3360

The Boy, enjoying his spaghetti dinner at 16 months.

IMG_3361

And Little Mousey Girl at her first birthday party!

IMG_3362

Old pictures are such a treasure!

Thanks for stopping by!

10 responses »

  1. I just received a box of old photos from my brother in Arkansas and I can’t begin to tell you how much I enjoyed looking through them. Lots of wonderful memories, for sure!

    Like

  2. That first picture of you is so cute! And before I saw the date I knew that one was an 80’s shot. There is no mistaking 80’s style : ) I hope you find resolution to your thorny issues. Life is so complicated sometimes, but God can make a way when we can’t see a way. Take care!

    Like

  3. Oh the waiting phase! God put me in a waiting period a few years ago and to some extent I am still there. Resolutions to conflict and difficult situations don’t always end as quickly as they seem to take place. But, it sounds like you in a good place while waiting. So much can be learned there. Loved the pictures.

    Like

  4. The beginning of the school year really does seem like a better time of re-evaluating and starting something new. Never thought about it much before today, but you’re right!
    If you ever have the chance to try clotted cream on scones, don’t hesitate! That stuff is delicious!
    Oh how I enjoy going through old photos. I don’t care who they belong to. That first photo of you is awesome. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

