Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Standard

Here we are at the last Hodgepodge of March, where did this month go??!! If you would like to link up, click on the button below to head over to Joyce’s.

1. What are two or three expectations you have of yourself?

It is my desired expectation to finish this life strong. To continue growing in the Lord, being transformed and having my mind renewed. Our study in Revelation last week was about sanctification.

***The generic meaning of sanctification is “the state of proper functioning.” To sanctify someone or something is to set that person or thing apart for the use intended by its designer. A pen is “sanctified” when used to write. Eyeglasses are “sanctified” when used to improve sight. In the theological sense, things are sanctified when they are used for the purpose God intends. A human being is sanctified, therefore, when he or she lives according to God’s design and purpose.***

That’s it, I want to be used for the purpose God intends, and I am expecting He will help me accomplish it.

2. In what way does your outdoor space need sprucing up this spring?

Oh goodness, I have mentioned a time or seven that we need to do something with our deck. We keep going back and forth between repairing and painting it or a complete teardown and rebuild with a Trex like product. As of right now the plan is to repair and repaint. Our house could be on the market in the next several years and the new owners might not need the ramps. We will let them decide what they want to do.

3. According to this site (Roadtrippers), six of North America’s most wondrous waterfalls are-Webster’s Falls in Ontario, Upper Whitewater Falls in North Carolina, Havasu Falls in the Grand Canyon, Multnomah Falls in Oregon, The Lower Yellowstone Falls, and Niagara.  Have you seen any on the list? Which one on the list would you most like to visit? Prettiest waterfall not on the list that you’ve seen in person?

Have only been to Niagara Falls. I would be more than happy to visit any of them!

4. Looking back, what’s something you wish you’d done as a teenager?

Learned how to cook? My Mom and Grandma were good cooks and I could have learned a thing or two but I was not inclined. I came into marriage with the skills I picked up from my junior high HomEc classes. Scary, I know.

5. Ham…yes please or no thank you? If you said yes please which of the following do you like best-baked ham with all the trimmings, a ham and cheese sandwich, prosciutto with melon, a ham biscuit, a bowl of split pea and ham soup, or a slice of pizza topped with ham and pineapple?

I do like ham. Probably would enjoy it with all the trimmings the best. I waffled between that and the pizza, but I think I just have a hankering for pizza!
6. Are you typical of your generation? How so?

I think this is a hard question, I don’t really know what is typical of my generation. I seem to be typical of a lot of people I know. We have families, homes, are involved in serving the Lord at church and elsewhere, are coming up on retirement,  are not happy with our weight. I guess I am typical!

7. April rolls in at the end of the week, and in keeping with that theme…’act the fool’, ‘nobody’s fool’ ‘a fool’s errand’, ‘could have fooled me’…which foolish idiom most recently applies to you?

I frequently get involved in a fool’s errand. Sometimes because of my own forgetfulness, usually because the place I went doesn’t have what I need, which results in looking all over the place, and sometimes returning home empty handed. Fools errand, starring me as Fool.

 8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Here is the Way Back When-sday part of the post.

April 1 would have been my parents 45th wedding anniversary. Look at that hair, on both of them!!!! My Mom’s was seriously teased and my Dad’s was so black and there!!!! I just cut his hair this weekend and I can tell you he would dearly LOVE to have that head of hair now!!!!

I was 9 and my brother Beeve was 5. I remember my Mother’s icy blue dress and that’s about it. In hindsight, it was a pretty good day, we got Dad!

My Mom’s been gone for 6 years now but I will always remember the date as their day.

IMG_3656

As an afterthought, did anyone else have that giant fork and spoon adorning their walls in the 70s? It was a very common thing when I was growing up!!

Thanks for stopping by!

7 responses »

  1. Thanks for sharing your memory. Never seen the spoon and fork thing. Lots of people in the UK had ceramic flying geese across the wall – usually 3 increasing in size.

    Like

  2. What a great picture of your parents. My mom had beehive hair, too. Still cracks me up to see pics of her back then. My parents have been gone for 15 (mom) and 13 (dad) years…I still think of them on their anniversary date…and every other day for that matter.

    Like

  3. We didn’t have the fork and spoon, but I definitely saw it in a few of the neighbor’s homes. Love your answer to #1! Have a great day!

    Like

  4. That is a great pic of your parents. We never had the fork and spoon, however, I do remember an episode of Everybody Loves Raymond wherein that fork and spoon were the storyline.

    Are you by chance studying Revelation in BSF? I am and will be sorry to see it in. It has been such a great study for us.

    Like

  5. I have to give you credit for a good title! 🙂
    I am the same with fools errand come to think of it. I always feel like I get caught out with things being broken or not in stock.

    Like

  6. Love that picture of your parents! I remember some of our friends had that fork and spoon, but we did not. I wish I learned to cook, too. My Italian mother had no patience with me in the kitchen. Have a super, awesome week!

    Like

Leave a Reply

