Wednesday Hodgepodge

Standard

Hi Guys, glad you stopped by! Click the button below if you would like to head over to Joyce’s to link up.

1. What does retirement mean to you? Are you planning for it, not thinking about it, looking forward to it, or dreading it?

Retirement is something Honey has talked about since I have known him! The strange thing is what once seemed very far off is now getting pretty close! Within two years kind of close!

We have planned, or I should say Honey has planned and I have stuck with the plan, for many years and we are in good shape. The harder issue for me is where we will live. At some point I think Honey would like to head down to one of the Carolinas or Tennessee, get a place on a lake and fish until his heart is content. I am fine with all of that, but I don’t necessarily want to pack up and peel out the minute he retires. We have no people there, don’t know a single soul, so I would prefer a slower transition. Maybe a few months out of our Michigan winters and the rest of the time here or travelling, then eventually move somewhere. Heck, we haven’t even been down there in YEARS! We would have to do some extensive searching!

He looks at listings for homes as a hobby, then forwards the ones he thinks I might like. A lot of them I do like 🙂 He has certain areas he likes better than others and I have no doubt he is creating a mental pro and con list about each city, lake and state.

I am really looking forward to Honey not having to work!!! He has worked very hard and put in many, many hours providing for our family and I am nothing but grateful and thrilled he will have time to do what he would like! He has always wanted to travel and serve more at church, be an elder, go on mission trips and such. Then there is that list of things he would like to get done around the house, that ought to keep us here a little while!!!

If I am honest with myself, I think I am a little apprehensive. I have spent considerable time making a life here. We have family, friends, small groups past and present, and then there is BSF. I have mentioned this to several whose answer has been along the lines that I could serve or attend class wherever we might land. While that is true and I know that in my head, my heart is strongly attached to our class here and the women I have served with for many years. I know it will be hard to leave all of the people that I love doing life with, but I also know that God can use me elsewhere. Just something that has been on my heart.

Ultimately, we will go where the Lord leads and I will be fine. All that to say, it’s coming, I know it, and it will happen at some point!

2. It’s International Guitar Month…do you play? Does anyone in your family play? What’s a song you especially like to hear played on the guitar or a favorite song featuring the guitar?

I don’t, but our brother-in-law Krazy Kenny does!!! He has been in a band in Windsor, Ontario for about a hundred years and is a well known guy! He plays with Brand X. I totally lifted this off his Facebook page!

IMG_3685

I think I would like most any song on the guitar. I think it’s funny when I hear songs from the 70s and 80s I know all the words, but I also know all the guitar solos!! Like Stairway to Heaven.
3. What’s your comfort food?

Cornbread. It reminds me of holidays, which reminds me of my Mom, which causes me to make it in my Grandma Georgia’s pink Pyrex dish because I miss them both. Comforting.
4. What’s one activity or area of your life where you absolutely never procrastinate?

I don’t know that I can speak definitively on the subject of procrastination! I can procrastinate with the best of them on any little thing.
5. Who does the grocery shopping in your house? Does your local store bag the groceries for you or is it a do-it-yourself kind of place? Do you like someone packing your groceries?

I usually do the shopping but on occasion will be joined by Honey or Mousey. And sometimes The Boy. We almost always grocery shop at least once when he is home, just because we are out running errands. The reason this comes to mind is because he usually gets introduced to someone we have run into! He generally makes a good impression 🙂

If we are at the grocery store, they are doing the bagging, at Sam’s it’s on me. I never get the boxes they have available. I do have some recyclable bags in the car and I put the smaller things from the cart in those. Makes it easier to haul stuff into the house. I don’t mind either way, but I have discovered that I do like watching the cashiers load your cart back up at Sam’s! It is my personal opinion that the best cashiers must have a little OCD in them. They don’t just throw things in there all willy nilly!!!! They are very particular about size, order and stacking and I have seen them stop and rearrange to suit their vision, when it can’t possibly matter if this is next to that! Fascinating to watch! Grocery store cashiers do the same thing filling the bags!
6. What’s the coolest thing you’ve seen in nature?

Hmmm, when I was growing up I saw our cat Muff have kittens. I thought it was pretty cool! It’s what first came to mind, pretty sure others will have something WAY cooler!
7. Share a favorite quote about home.

Where we love is home,
Home that our feet may leave, but not our hearts.
~Oliver Wendell Holmes, Sr., Homesick in Heaven

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Keelyody and I started the 2016 walking season last week. It was brisk but bearable. This Monday we regretted our decision!!!!! I snapchatted my thoughts!

IMG_1842

Have a good week!

9 responses »

  1. Good post. I love the photo. I’m guessing you’re committed to walking a certain number of days. For me if the weather was too bad I’d put on a walking video and do an indoor walk lol

    Like

  2. While I would love to move and have suggested it umpteen times to my DH, he won’t hear of it. But I don’t want to move too far away from where we are because we are so connected here and I hear you on BSF. Your photos are fun!

    Like

  3. Great photo! We’ve been having temps in the 70/s here…sure hope it warms up soon for you! Ah, love me some cornbread, too…especially crumbled in a glass of cold milk.

    Like

  4. I’ve been walking a little bit later in the morning, since its still cool early on. I think renting a place down south for a month is a good way to begin. You get a better sense of the area and how it feels to live as oppposed to visit. Retirement is a process : )

    Like

  5. Loved the photo of your thoughts! I was able to witness the birth of one of my grandchildren and I can honestly say, it was the most amazing experience. When we are on the pushing end, I don’t think we realize the miracle that is truly taking place. At least I know I didn’t. Have a great rest of your week. Enjoyed visiting with you today.

    Like

  6. Jeff is retiring soon also, and we are thinking, planning, and eagerly anticipating! Extended travel during winter will be very welcome! Comfort food….mac and cheese. Lots of good memories.

    Like

Leave a Reply

