Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Standard

Hi Guys, welcome back to the Hodgepodge! If you would like to link up your blog or read some other folks answers, click on the button below and head over to Joyce’s. She will be glad to have you!

1. This is the last Hodgepodge in April. Share something you learned this month.

Y’All, we are almost done with our BSF study of Revelation, and the last couple of weeks have been all about HEAVEN!!!  HALLELUJAH!!!! No more weirdness!

I never spent much time thinking about heaven until my Mom passed away 6 years ago. It always seemed so far away, but when someone you dearly love has arrived on the other side? It makes you think about it a little differently. I remember my Mom saying when her Mother passed away that she really had more loved ones on the heaven side. When you think of everyone in your life that has loved you and built into your life, at some time there has to be a tipping point. As heaven claims generations of family and friends that you have loved, one by one, year by year, you long to see them again, and it loosens your grip on this world.

All that to say that since my Mom has gone Home, I DO wonder what Heaven will be like. I know the Bible tells us we will have new bodies, that gave me great comfort because my Mom’s body was plain worn out. I know that there will be no more tears, death, mourning, crying or pain, for the old order has passed away, that has to be one of my favorite verses. I am ever so thankful that there will be no more sin because I am WAY ready to lay my sinful nature down and walk right over it into the pearly gates! We will also see the Lord face to face and live with Him forever. I can’t even!

So those are the things I know and have thought about, but what I learned was in the notes this week.

IMG_1951

I did not know all that!!! Can I tell you how much I LOVE  having that glimpse??? A new body (size 6 please), new art, science, worship, and music? Conversation, laughter and affection, my very favorite things NOW, will be made even better????? He is such a good, good Father!

I have always jokingly said that my Mom was up in heaven decorating mansions and gardening with her Mother for their Savior! Now I really think she might be! Someone has to take care of the new garden of Eden!

2.  It’s National Poetry Month, and we all know you can’t escape an April Hodgepodge without a little poetry. Keeping the first line as is, change the rest of the wording in this familiar rhyme to make it your own – ‘Hickory Dickory Dock…

Hickry Dickory Dock

The weeds have arrived, what a shock.

They like all the raining

My poor back is paining

As I pull them all out and take stock!

3. What were one or two rules in the home you grew up in? Growing up, did you feel your parents were strict? Looking back do you still see it that way?

This is proving harder than I thought. When we were younger we were not allowed to help ourselves to snacks, we had to ask. I now realize this was probably to keep us from spoiling our dinner or getting into something our Mom had set aside for lunches. Another rule was don’t talk sassy! I am pretty sure I was a sassy girl.

I don’t remember thinking they were too strict at the time and in hindsight they really were not. We were pretty good kids and it was a different world then.

Our kids think we were too strict and overprotective. I have told them before that it was our job to protect and care for them, and when I stand before God and that’s the worst thing I am guilty of, I can take it!

4. Tell us about a kitchen or cooking disaster or mishap you’ve experienced. Do you have many from which to choose?

I do have some experience here! The last thing was pretty funny and we refer to it still. Mousey and I were wanting to try a Pinterest recipe for some kind of breaded, roasted green beans. Of course it looked delicious in the picture. It may have been one of the first times The Good Eater had dined with us. After following the recipe faithfully we ended up with green beans where the egg breading all slid off and basically turned into scrambled eggs. We called them egg beans. You might not think they would turn up in conversations. You would be wrong.

5. Plant a kiss, plant doubt, plant a tree, plant yourself somewhere…which on the list have you most recently planted?

How about plant a plant? I did some work in our front yard beds this week and planted and replanted some day lillies,  wild geranium and pansies. And then mulched them, hence my paining back.

6. What’s your most worn item of clothing this time of year? Are you tired of it?

I don’t know about you guys, but I don’t have spring clothing. It’s either winter or summer. Some years the most worn thing are my boots, some years it’s the sandals. I think I am tired of the boots. Plus once you wear the sandals, it feels weird to put the boots back on :/

7. I’m wrapping up the A-Z Blog Challenge this month and our Hodgepodge lands on letter W. What’s one word beginning with W that describes you in some way? How about a word to describe your home, also beginning with W?

I am a wife and our home is in the western part of our city.

8. Insert your own random thought here. 

Here is the Way Back When-sday part of the post.

IMG_3743

This is probably the summer of 1997, that would make The Ab-Cat 8, The Boy 6 and Mousey almost 3. We were at The Toledo Zoo, which was a favorite of ours, riding the train. There is a lot to love about this picture! Thumb sucking Mousey Lou, The Boy wearing the shirt he bought at his elementary school fundraiser, and Abby looking very jaunty in her backwards baseball cap! Such a fine memory!

Thanks for stopping by!

4 responses »

  1. I loved #1. I think for me too, as a younger person it was often a little scary to think about death. As I’ve gotten older and the world has gone madder I think my longing for iheaven grows. I like the egg bean story. If we ever meet in person I’ll be sure to mention it : )

    Like

  2. Oh, a fellow BSF’r! I love all the talk of heaven and am so disappointed this morning that I won’t be there for the lecture!!! I so wanted to share my answer about heaven (as I’m sure everybody else did)! Makes me sad, but I have to go to the doctor with DH. Loved your green bean story! Your poem was great and so true! Have a great day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

