Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Standard

Hi Guys! Welcome to the first Hodgepodge of May, if you would like to join up, click on the button below and head over to Joyce’s! Special thanks to Joyce for hosting when she is on vacation!

1. What’s something fun you’re looking forward to on your May calendar?

I will be heading down to Virginia to visit my dear friend Mrs. Schmenkman for our annual Memorial Day Extravaganza!!! It is always a fine time of shopping, eating, and visiting, with the added bonus of doing each others hair and having frozen yogurt, ice cream, dessert or smoothies at least once a day. At least. Plus she has a lot of kitty cats, critters and pretty gardens!

This will be our 21st year of the Hootenanny! Here we are in 2012, when I was blonder and Schmenky was darker, it’s usually the other way around!!

173

2. What are some images that come to mind when you hear the word mother?

Pretty smile, soft skin, ready laugh, loving heart, that’s my Mother. 2009, our last Mother’s Day together.

IMG_1980 

 3. What’s something beautiful you own or have seen that’s made of glass?

The group I run with is called The Capri’s, and they are a talented bunch! Capri L (aka Mrs. Schmenkman) and Capri D are especially fond of mosaicing and they do beautimous work! It just so happens that I am showing you roosters, but they both do SO much more than roosters!!!! They can do wonderful things with glass, and they are my faves!

Deb’s guy, named Fin, because he is FIN-ISHED!!! I love his feets!

And Schmenky’s fine fellow! They both have their own distinct flavor!

2 commissions and Grady 004

4. Was today typical? If not what made it unusual?

I was doing a bit of spring cleaning, so not exactly typical. I also helped Honey replace the cushion and canopy for our outside swing, which we have never had to do before, so definitely unusual. It was a bear to get on, grrrr. 

5. What is a quality you wish you could have more of?

Hmmmm, there are so many.

I have often wished I were more thoughtful. It’s a hard one though, you can’t make yourself BE more thoughtful because you just don’t THINK to BE thoughtful. Conundrum.

6. What’s the next major purchase you need to make? Will it happen in the month of May?

Kitchen faucet, patio table and gallons of Deck Over. Most likely.

7. What responsibility/job/work did you dislike while growing up but has proved helpful to you as an adult?

I cleaned the house for my Mom when I was growing up and I’m quite sure I groaned and complained while vacuuming, dusting, doing dishes and cleaning bathrooms. I have to say it has totally come in handy.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Here is the Way Back When-sday part of the post.

My brother Beeve and I with our Mom on Mother’s Day, maybe around early 2000s. My Mom sure had tall children!

IMG (12)

Beeve sent me this last night. She is always walking right beside us, in our hearts.

IMG_1984

And me with our babies, probably 1996. Precious memories.

IMG_0003

Thanks for stopping by!

6 responses »

  1. Aww. What a sweet post with pictures of your mom and you with your littles. So precious. My mom had taller children, too! Lol! What fun you are going to have this month. The stained glass roosters are gorgeous! Wow! Happy Mother’s Day.

    Like

  2. I’m sure we never stop missing our moms. Those are sweet pictures to treasure. I love the mosaics! Some people are so crafty clever : ) Happy Mothers Day!

    Like

Leave a comment