Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Standard

It’s good to be back with The Hodgepodge!

1. Tell us about a time you found yourself ‘in the middle of nowhere’. Was this deliberate?

I can’t recall but you can be sure it was NOT deliberate!!!

2. What’s something you’re ‘in the middle of’ today or this week? 

Goodness, I have been in the middle of a hectic month!!! I hosted a BSF get together for our end of year Sharing Day last Thursday, and it gave me a reason to do a few things that needed doing. You know how that is, one thing leads to another. Spring cleaning, yard work and deck painting ensued. It’s always good to have a deadline, right?? And then for some reason I scheduled nearly all my temple maintenance appointments for this week, attended two funerals, and bought a car full of flowers that need to get planted.. In addition I have also done much hair because I am heading down to Virginia to see Mrs. Schmenkman next week for our annual Memorial Day Extravaganza, and everyone including my brother wants to catch me before I go! I will be sliding into Dulles International Airport like Kramer on Seinfeld!

3. At what age do you think ‘middle age’ begins? What does it mean to be ‘middle aged’? 

My first thought was 40s, but then I decided that the 50s seemed more appropriate for us. It’s a transition from the daily parenting of children, launching them, and the realization that we will be retired in a year or so. There are a lot of possibilities and many decisions, it’s fun to talk and ponder about this next stage!  

4. Ravioli, stuffed peppers, samosas, deviled eggs, steamed dumplings, pierogis, or a jelly donut…your favorite food (from this list!) with something yummy in the middle. Your favorite not on the list? 

If I am being honest? A jelly doughnut. I am a fan of a delicious doughnut.

5. Albert Einstein is quoted as saying ”In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity.’ Would you agree? Have you found this to be true in your own life? Feel free to elaborate. 

Agreed. We have experienced many difficulties in our life, some common to man, while others had the potential to break our children, family and our marriage. The weights of this world can crush you if you don’t have a firm foundation. I don’t know why God chose for us the life we have had, but I do know that in all of our trials He gave us the opportunity to learn something about life, ourselves and Him. We have had the opportunity to see Him work in our lives, big picture and small. To feel His hand of comfort and provision, through ordinary, providential and extraordinary means. Not everyone has been blessed, as we were, to see how the body of Christ can come along side and lift up its broken members, and be the hands and feet of Jesus. If not for the difficulties, we would have missed those opportunities, To have gone through the difficulties and chosen not to see the opportunities would have been the biggest waste of suffering ever.

6. What’s a song you remember loving from your middle school years? Do you love it still? 

Funny you should ask this question! I heard a song while driving this week that took me back to junior high! Does anyone remember when Peter Frampton came alive!!! Oh, that album was HUGE in Michigan! I heard Do You Feel Like We Do and could remember every word, guitar solo and talk box solo!!

7. May 18th is National Visit Your Relatives Day. Will you celebrate? Which relative would you visit if time, distance, and expense were not considered. 

I am going to see a whole bunch of relatives tomorrow when our family gathers to mark the first year of my Father’s passing. It will be a celebration of his life.

If I could visit anyone, I would choose my Aunt Ava and Uncle Frank. They live in Tampa and we did visit them last October, but it’s not the same as being able to drop by and visit any time we would like. Ava is my Father’s sister and she has a lot of stories and facts stored in her brain. I like visiting with them!

IMG_0905

Here we are with my Girl Cousin Lynn. We had her Mama, my Aunt Ava, take our picture and we about died laughing when we discovered that she took a burst of 80 pictures!!!!

IMG_0989

8. Insert your own random thought here. 

This Way Back When-sday is from last year.

Tomorrow is the one year anniversary of my Father’s passing away from pulmonary fibrosis.. I spent the last night with him in his hospice room. He was there exactly one day. No one expected him to pass that quickly. I was thankful to have that time with him. We talked about many things, love, regrets, heaven. It seems like yesterday.

IMG_2760

Thank you for stopping by, enjoy your week.

3 responses »

  1. Yes, I do know how that is! You knocked yourself out! Our share day at BSF was fabulous and so was the fellowship afterwards. I so appreciate the people who open up their homes for fellowship. So sweet that you were there with your Dad.

    Like

  2. Well Sirrius 70’s radio still loves to overplay that Frampton song : ) I like it though! I liked your answer to #5. Have a fabulous time in Virginia!!

    Like

  3. There you are, smiles. Thank you for visiting me earlier…I enjoyed your Hodgepodge and condolences over your fathers passing….

    Like

Leave a Reply

