Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Standard

Hi Guys, glad you stopped by! If you would like to join us click on the button below and head over to Joyce’s to link up.

1. If you could sit beside and/or jump in any lake in the whole wide world today, which lake would you choose and why?

I think I would choose to sit beside Gun Lake where my aunt and uncle have a cottage. They have owned it since I was in high school so there are a LOT of memories!
IMG_3703

There is the captain heading out to open the boat.

IMG_2500

It has lots of good place to sit, front and back.

IMG_3738

As well as inside. We have played a lot of cards at that table overlooking the lake!

IMG_3736

Uncle Bob, Aunt Phyllis, their daughter and son in law, Girl Cousin Lindsay and Rob B, along with Honey and Ab-Cat.

IMG_3750

There have been rumblings that they might sell, they are spending their winters in Florida these days. I understand the reasons but everyone will be so sad to see it go.

IMG_3746

We are heading up there in July, hopefully not for the last time!

2. What’s your favorite ‘fruity’ drink?

I don’t drink much in the way of a fruity drink, other than the very occasional lemonade.

3. I read a list here of thirteen things to do right now to simplify your life. They were-

clean as you go, re-evaluate your relationships (cut toxic ties), unsubscribe (too many blogs and websites), de-clutter, write down your daily goals, reply to emails right away, forget multitasking, create a morning routine, re-evaluate your commitments (which hobbies and responsibilities are most important to you), say no, clean up your computer, and plan your day ahead

Which of the tasks listed do you currently find most helpful in keeping life simple? Which item on the list should you adopt in order to simplify your life this month?

I find that a routine can be helpful to keep me on a track, but I am very flexible. Sometimes a rigid schedule is the last thing you need to keep things simple.

Decluttering makes me feel so accomplished!

I can also say no to things. I realize this is a very hard thing for some, but just watching them juggle their ridiculous, jam packed schedules is not appealing to me. Just because someone else thinks I should do something doesn’t always sway me if I don’t feel that God has called me to do it, or I really don’t want to. That’s not to say that I never do things I don’t feel like doing. Many times I do things because it’s the right thing to do for myself, my family or for others. God directs those things. 

Because it is summer and most of the things I do throughout the year are on hiatus, I could probably benefit with a loose plan for the day so I don’t just fritter my time away. A loose plan though, I wouldn’t want to miss out on anything fun because I was supposed to do laundry on Monday!

4. What did you do the summer after you graduated from high school?

No earthly idea. I probably had fun though because I don’t think I got a job until the fall.

5. Are you a fan of podcasts? If so what’s a favorite?

I have heard of them but don’t listen to any.

6. Do you think today’s fathers have it harder, easier, or just different than fathers in the past?

I’m sure every generation had its challenges. Most fathers seem more hands on now than in some years past.
7. Tell us one way you’re like your father? Or not at all like your father if that’s easier?

I have always been told that I look like my Father and his people. It’s a strong gene.

IMG_2386

8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Here is Way Back When-sday in 2009 or 2010 with Mousey and Little Goomba who is now Medium Goomba! She was reading him one of his very favorite books, Old McDonald. He liked to make all those animal noises and was a champ at pig snorting! I believe he is showing us that he was “SO BIG!!” Look at that sweet little Mousey gal! Probably going into 9th grade. I miss those little peanuts!

FullSizeRender (46)

Thanks for stopping by, enjpy your week!

2 responses »

  1. Your way back Wednesday pics are always so sweet in my opinion a great lake house is all about the porch sittiin’ I feel the same about a mountain house. Enjoy your day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

