Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Standard

Happy July Guys! Hope you had a good Independence Day! If you would like to participate, click on the button below and head over to Joyce’s to link up.

1. How did you welcome the month of July, and tell us one fun thing you did to celebrate the 4th. (or the weekend for any non-USA residents playing along today)

It was pretty low key over here, Honey and I celebrated with the Girls and The Good Eater over dinner on Sunday night.

IMG_3232 

My brother Beeve and his family came over after and we made smores on the fire pit. Have you ever had a smore with a Reeses peanut butter cup??? Good idea Guys!!!

IMG_3266

IMG_3265

IMG_3267 

  Sy got a new harness in hopes that if he jumps off the patio he won’t hang himself. He was looking pretty spiffy! He did well until the sprinklers came on then he did some major contortions trying to get away. Next thing we knew he was at the screen door meowing to be let in, without the harness!!!!! Guess I need to tighten it up!

IMG_3256

It wore him out. So much for his independence day! He firmly wanted to be a captive again. Life is good in the house Buddy.

IMG_3268

On Monday we washed all the cars, inside and out, so welcome JULY!

2. Right now..what’s your favorite red thing? white thing? blue thing?

The pot of red geraniums on our front porch are shaping up nicely.

 IMG_3273

I am liking this outfit with the white leggings and blue striped top, wore it to Bible study yesterday!

IMG_3322

3. Wave the white flag, raise a red flag, fly your freak flag…which ‘flag’ have you flown most recently? Explain.

How about a flag at half mast?

Half-mast (British English) or half-staff (American English) refers to a flag flying below the summit on a pole. In many countries this is seen as a symbol of respect, mourning, or distress.

We just found out that a dear friend from church has cancer. It does not look good, but we have a Great Physician that specializes in hard things. 

Isaiah 43:2

 When you go through deep waters,
I will be with you.
When you go through rivers of difficulty,
you will not drown.

The waters are deep and our hearts are heavy for her and their family.

4. According to Cond Nast Traveler these are the seven best places to visit in July-

a boat safari in Botswanna’s Okavango Delta, Riviera Maya Mexico (it’s whale shark season and apparently you can swim with them), Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons, Pamploma Spain, St. Petersburg Russia, the Fuji Rock Festival at Mount Naeba Japan, the Salzburg Festival in Salzburg Austria


If time and money weren’t factors would you want to see any/all of these? Which would you most like to see and why?

Yellowstone and the Grand Tetons sound the most interesting at the moment. We have plans to go out there some day with Mrs. Schmenkman and Mr C. They seem very majestic. That God is a Wonderful Maker.

5. Grilled cheese, pimento cheese, or mac and cheese…your favorite from the cheesy treats listed?

Probably a grilled cheese. There are so many yummy ways to make it!

6. What makes you sweat?

Life. Seriously, just breathing. At this time in my life I pinball between warm, hot, melting and spontaneous combustion, all sweaty, all the time.

7. Your favorite movie with a ‘patriotic’ theme of some sort?

I will say Independence Day, we just watched some of that the other day.

8. Insert your own random thought here. 

Here is the Way Back When-sday part of the post, probably from Independence Day 1999 or 2000. I love those little blondies! Even our kitty Indi was blond!

IMG_0347

Thanks for stopping by! Have a good July!

5 responses »

  1. I’m so sorry for your friend’s diagnosis. I feel like cancer is rampant and I have a list of people I know well that I’m praying for who are in some stage of treatment. Your geranium is lovely!

    Like

  2. What a sweet kitty; I love his sporty Blue harness. I think I might try this on our cat…We just moved to the mountains and I don’t want him to wander away from the deck (lots of things that could harm him in the woods). I noticed that folks around the fire at your place are wrapped up in warm things (sweatshirt, sleeping bag, etc.) do you live in a northern location? It’s so hot here I can’t imagine wearing a hoodie in front of the fire. I enjoyed learning a little about you, thanks for sharing.
    Cheers!
    Lori in Blue Ridge, GA

    Like

  3. I’m so sorry to hear that your friend has cancer. She’s in my prayers for healing and strength.

    In regards to the sweating, I hear you! My insides have a heater that just won’t quit! I can’t wait until this phase is behind me. Give me a cold flash any day. 🙂 I’m sorry that you’d dealing with temperature control issues, too.

    Have a blessed day.

    Like

Leave a Reply

