The Trailwood Garden Walk 2016

Standard

Went garden walking again with The Peanuts Champ and The Back Door Neighbor!!! Always a fun way to spend some time.

IMG_3945

We went in the evening this year for the first time, it worked out well! The first house boasted a one of a kind mailbox. It’s the only one I have ever seen! Succulents abounding!

IMG_3818

I spy The Backdoor Neighbor spying me!

IMG_3819

As we were walking to the backyard we saw this fish waiting to be mosiac-ed.

IMG_3820

The owner said it was going to be attached to this as a piece of art in front of his mother’s store. A man, carrying a briefcase, walking his fish. OK.

IMG_3826

I thought this was an AWESOME potting bench! I guess it served double duty as a serving buffet at parties. Works for me. Granite, faincy!

IMG_3821

I always like seeing some cute little things nestled in among the plants.

 IMG_3833

I don’t know what this was but liked it anyway.

IMG_3832

We all agreed that this was a delicious color of coneflower!

IMG_3829 

Hosta heaven! I would really like to have some different varieties, but we don’t have a ton of shade in our yard and it seems mean.

IMG_3823

A right fine fire pit!

IMG_3825

Next house. This was downtown in our next town over. They have some beautiful older homes. Many have been reworked many times, some have bought the lots next door, tore both down and built beautiful new places. Pretty sure the brick pavers are not original!

IMG_3841

This was a clever idea, Plain wooden window boxes made special by the metal flowers! So cute!

IMG_3842

This yard was almost like a park. I think they may have bought the lot behind them that actually was a park. Love the coleus.

 IMG_3845

IMG_3847

Nicest flower pot featuring a dragon I’ve ever seen.

IMG_3848

Purty pot.

IMG_3850

They had many little areas to sit and relax. Back patio.

IMG_3851

Jealous of the JUMBO hosta, yet again.

IMG_3854

IMG_3855

IMG_3857 

IMG_3858

We are partial to fluffy felines.

IMG_3861 

 IMG_3863

I like the bricks bordering the gardens.

IMG_3865

And a gazebo for additional relaxing!

IMG_3860

IMG_3867

IMG_3869

Onward HO. I think an artist lived in this next house. They had several of these interesting gazing balls. All so unique and loverly! Hence my thought that the artist resided there!

IMG_3872

This owner made good use of space here.

IMG_3873

Another purty ball.

IMG_3875

I thought this was clever too. Metal rods that told what the plant was. It seems like there was more cleverness, but I have unfortunately forgotten what.

IMG_3876

Very visually interesting!

IMG_3877

They made the most of this tiny space!

IMG_3879

I have had all of these fellas in the past and I especially like them all jammed together!

IMG_3880 

Pretty good use of cinderblock!

IMG_3883

IMG_3884

This person also used some space in the ally for gardening which was very nice. The rest of the ally was not as beautimous. More art.

IMG_3886

IMG_3887

IMG_3888

IMG_3889

I kind of felt sorry for their next door neighbors. Lush beauty, then Death Valley.

IMG_3892

Carrying on to the last house, which was our fave. I surely do like the sweet potato vine in its many flavors, plus other viney things.

IMG_3894

Clever presentation of herbs.

IMG_3896

LOTS of interesting touches here.

IMG_3895

Love, LOVE, L.O.V.E. this!

IMG_3899

Sincere want.

IMG_3901

See the Petosky stone? Right where Petosky IS!!!!

IMG_3902

The owner, he was very nice and friendly. He told us his niece painted the deck for her grad party last summer.

IMG_3903

He said he liked using his hot tub this way. Cheaper than running it!

IMG_3905

IMG_3906

IMG_3909

Koi. I likes the koi.

IMG_3910

Good use of old plates.

IMG_3913

Love that sign.

IMG_3915

Love the succulent just hanging out.

IMG_3925

I don’t know what this peely tree was about.

IMG_3926

They called it Paperbark Maple, I call it Bad Sunburn.

IMG_3927

IMG_3929

More succs.

IMG_3930

The door was a work in progress. They had the painting for reference. I would like to go back someday and see the finished product.

IMG_3932

They showed us their plans. By the way, in case I have never mentioned it, I would like that stone on our fireplace. Pretty sure I have mentioned it. Mentioning it just in case. Again.

IMG_3934

LOVE the chair!!! And the bird.

IMG_3935

It was a fun visit!

IMG_3937

With fun gals!

IMG_3940

IMG_3942

Until next year Ladies! We went home inspired!

Leave a Reply

