Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Standard

Hi Guys, thanks for stopping by! I am super late to the party today but if you would like to get the questions and link up, click on the button below to head over to Joyce’s. She will be glad to see you!

1. On a scale of 1-10, how would you rate your summer so far? Why?
(1=eh and 10=best summer ever)

Seems like an average 5. It has seemed busier than usual, but nothing noteworthy. I am enjoying my flowers, The Armor of God Bible study, lunching with friends and spending time with my People. NOT enjoying the soul sucking heat.

Enjoyed our getaway to my aunt and uncle’s cottage and looking forward to going over to South Haven on Lake Michigan for our annual trip next month with the ladies from our Caregroup. Honey and I are heading down to South Carolina in September to have a lake look see. He has been looking at homes online for quite some time, so I guess we should go in person to see if that is where we might want to retire to.

2. July 26th is National Aunts and Uncles Day. Did you have many aunts and uncles growing up? Were you especially close to any one or maybe all of them? Are you an aunt? (or uncle for the men who join here on Wednesdays) Share a favorite memory relating to one of your own aunts or uncles or relating to a niece or nephew who call you Aunt (or Uncle).

I had several aunts on my Father’s side of the family, but two stand out as favorites.

My Aunt Adalene was very special, more like a Grandmother really. She passed away a few years ago but her love and care will always be in my heart. She was so good to my brother and I and I know that my Mother treasured her as well. I will miss our conversations forever and always.

IMG_0003 (4)

At her 90th birthday party!

IMG_0002

My Aunt Ava is my Father’s sister. She is another one who persevered in having a relationship with us after my parents divorced. I think I get my love of documenting my family from her. I once told her that she has a complete record of all my hairstyles in her pictures! This reminds me that I owe her a letter!

My Aunt Phyllis is the wife of my Mother’s brother. She is a lot of fun and is always trying new things and taking us along with her! Famously good cook, maker of pies, student of French, life long learner and soon to be a first time GRANDMOTHER! We are so excited!

IMG_3465

When I married Honey I became the aunt to many children! It was my first experience and I enjoyed it very much. Many of those children now have children of their own!

I wasn’t sure my brother and his wife were ever going to take the plunge into parenthood, but in 2007 they surprised us all and had Little Goomba! We kept him over here for two days a week until he was 2 and he imprinted with us all!

057

He is now Medium Goomba and growing up fast!

IMG_1263
3. What’s your favorite food dipped in chocolate? What’s your favorite food dipped in cheese?

What wouldn’t be good dipped in chocolate?? I like strawberries, pineapple and pretzels quite a bit.

All vegetables would be yummy dipped in cheese. A crusty loaf of bread. My finger.
4. When were you last astonished by something? Explain.

I have been astonished regularly this year with the political news. Sheesh, I still can’t believe this election is for real. I still can’t believe what people are willing to sweep under the rug, on both sides..

5. Surf board, paddle board, ironing board, Pinterest board, score board, clip board, bulletin board…which board have you most recently encountered?

Probably Pinterest, but barely even that. I seem to forget about looking there lately.
6. What’s your favorite story from scripture? Why that story?

As a child it was the story of Solomon and the two women who claimed the other stole their child. I was amazed how well his solution ferreted out the true mothers identity.

As an adult I have studied the life of Moses four times and have been able to learn much each time. Seeing the Lord’s power on display during the plagues and in the Israelites exodus from slavery gets me every time. And then the Lord’s patience and provision to those same stiff necked, disobedient Israelites during the years they wandered in the desert? Gives me hope for myself and our human race.
7. If you were to travel from the east coast to the west coast in your own country, which five cities would you most want to see?

Yellowstone National Park, Wyoming.

Crescent City, California to see the redwoods.

Mansfield, Missouri, to see Laura Ingalls Wilder’s home and museum.

Arizona to see The Grand Canyon. Honey took our two oldest children but I stayed back at the hotel with Mousey and her ear infection. Would like to go someday.

Bellevue, Washington to visit The Boy and The Dane.
8. Insert your own random thought here.

Way Back When-sday to 1995! Here are The Ab-Cat and The Boy in front of the Grand Canyon! I can’t even!

The Boy, The Dane and her family were out there at the beginning of the month and he said it’s like God drug His finger and made it! So cool!

IMG_3467

Thanks for stopping by!

3 responses »

  1. South Haven is a great place for a vacation! No surprise you go back every year. We have vacationed in a variety of places along the coast, including South Haven. We were just in St. Joseph last weekend.

    Where in South Carolina are you looking? It would be a nice place to retire. My aunt and uncle relocated to Bluffton (right outside Hilton Head) many years ago.

    I want to go to the Grand Canyon someday, too. My son went just this year with a school group. How disappointing that you were so close but couldn’t go! I hope you get the chance someday.

    So nice that you have such close relationships with aunts and your nephew.

    Like

  2. Love the Grand Canyon photo! If you ever get to the Laura Ingalls place in Missouri, be sure to swing over and see the Precious Moments chapel. It is worth the trip even if you aren’t a fan. I am not, but loved the chapel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

