Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Standard

Hi Guys! Thanks for stopping by for the olympic Hodgepodge!

1. Are you watching the Olympics? Your favorite summer Olympic event? I read recently a list of the most iconic Olympic moments in history…what stands out in your mind as a great moment from some past summer Olympic games?

I don’t know if it was the greatest moment ever but WE still talk about the mens swimming relay in 2008 in Beijing!! Cullen Jones, Jason Lezak, Michael Phelps and Garrett Weber-Gale broke the world record and shut up that smack talking French team!!! Jason Lezak poured it on!

IMG_3587

We have been all up in swimming this year too. Mousey and The Good Eater, both having been swimmers back in the day, are good to have around for in the know commentary.

2. Have you ever been to Rio? How about the place that started it all-Greece? Have you ever been to any of the Olympic Games in person? Is that something you’d like to do? Have you ever met an Olympian in person?

I have never been to either, nor have I been to an Olympic event. I am ok with that, I like to watch from the comfort of my couch, and I especially like the back stories they show about the athletes.

The closest I have ever come to meeting an athlete is strictly by being in the same town. Allison Schmidt went to the same school as Ab-Cat and The Boy, though neither of them knew her. The Boy’s friend Elyk was here last weekend and he said he had one class with her. I was talking to a friend at church on Sunday and he said his daughters do know her and swam on the same team in high school! That leads me to believe that I may have been at the pool when Mousey’s team swam against hers!

Anyway, best of luck Allison!!!

IMG_3586
3. The ball’s in their court (tennis), cross the finish line (track and field), on target (archery), make a splash (diving), on a roll (gymnastics), out of one’s depth (swimming)…which Olympic-related idiom best applies to your life right now? Explain.

Those are all great, descriptive idioms but for the life of me I can’t see how any of them relate to what I’ve got going in life at the moment. I feel more like endurance is my theme! Like a marathon runner, only I am enduring the heat and humidity, the aches and pains of my once reliable body, my traitorous weight!  Yes, I am enduring menopause!
4. What have you earned a ‘gold medal’ in recently?

I made my first freezer jam! Hoping it is a winner! I wanted to try and make some using Truvia. I did have to buy pectin for low to no sugar jams in the pink box.

My first efforts of strawberry and raspberry jam with Truvia. The spoon I licked after filling the jars was pretty darn good! If everyone likes it, I will make another batch.

IMG_3583 (1)
5. What is it (or who is it) that motivates you to eat right, exercise, and do what you can to be healthy?

It’s a combination thing.

I try and think of it as Temple Maintenance, because that’s what it really is. Our bodies are the temple of the Lord, and we are called to be good stewards of everything He has given us. I can’t expect God to bless me with good health if I am burning my body candle at both ends, mistreating it with unhealthy activities, overindulging in foods that I know are poor choices, and just generally abusing it. The same goes with my mind. That is not to say that I think all sickness and disease are brought on as consequence or punishment. While that can certainly be the case, many of the challenges we face are directly related to our fallen world.

I do it for myself, because  I feel better when I take care of myself. I usually walk almost 4 miles, 5 mornings a week. I try and eat well, low carb and sugars, because I feel better when I do. 

I also do it for Honey and our family. Because Honey and I have been married for over 30 years, we are in this together. We want to try and live healthy, active lives so that we are better able to serve the Lord, his people and our family. This takes on many shapes and forms, and I fully realize that God can use us any way we are, but for us, this has involved being physically available. 

We will just do our best with what we have.
6. Are you young at heart or an old soul? Explain.

As usual I feel I fall somewhere in the middle. Sometimes I do feel like I am a dying breed, belonging to generations past, but then the kids keep me young at heart. I am not a consistent anything here.
7. It’s National S’mores Day (August 10th)…are you a fan? Will you celebrate with a s’more today?

I would love to celebrate this worthy occasion!
8. Insert your own random thought here.

I have a couple sparkling beauties for you today! This Way Back When-sday takes me back to about 1971, in 4th grade, at a bowling banquet with my good friend and neighbor down the street, Dawn Slater. Dawn’s dress and glasses scream early 70s, do they not??!! I think my mom made my dress, probably for the previous Easter.

IMG_3590

I actually think we look kind of old for fourth graders! Dawn was an experienced bowler, I think I finished out the season with an average of a whopping 72.

The only thing I can remember about the banquet was my crush Tom was there and I had my first cannoli. Big night , obviously.

IMG_3589

Thanks for stopping by!

6 responses »

  1. Well, judging strictly from your pics, your jam looks like a success to me. I really liked your answer on number five. One of my friends wrote a booklet many years ago entitled “Your Body is a Temple, Not a Trash Can!”

    Like

  2. Your jam sounds delish. Raspberry is my favorite, but I’ve only ever made strawberry. Which I can eat with a spoon, skip the toast : ) Judging from your pics, we are definitely of the same era!

    Like

  3. Oh my goodness! You looked so much like Ab-Cat (or should I say that she looks so much like you did) when you were in 4th grade!!
    Speaking of Olympics, didn’t you hold Sheila Toarmina’s gold medal when she came to CCC one Sunday??

    Like

Leave a Reply

