Before and After on the Patio

Standard

Is everybody out there melting? The Mitten is a scorched, crispy land. It feels like a broiler outside. I have not heard there is an end in sight either. I just keep watering, because Mother Nature has been beyond stingy with the rain.

Since it is getting to be mid August (I can’t believe it either!) I thought I would take you around and show you how my garden has grown.

These were the raw materials. Well, not all of this was mine, the second cart was Jip the Farm Dog’s, we went to The Favorite Flower Place together.

IMG_2757

A better look at my stuff. I always try a couple of new things and it usually results in sadness or failure. I should just stick with what I know, but the rare time the newbie has been successful keeps me hopeful and or cocky to try again the next year. This years additions will probably not be invited back. As per usual.

Things don’t always stay where they start for various reasons. Color incompatibility, death, range of growth to name a few.

The lantana in the tallest pot needed more blazing sun and was re-homed.

 IMG_2782 (2)

The new pot on the same table had experienced pansy death, a common occurrence in the dog days of summer. I stuck an extra sun patience in there and some leftover vincas in the bottom pot and everyone seems very happy.

 IMG_3592

These shelves of million bells have been the saddest four customers on the patio for the last 2-3 years. I am sorry million bells, I am breaking up with you, I don’t love you anymore. The day I planted them was the very best they ever looked.

IMG_2783 (1)

It’s been a long, ugly, non performing slide downhill ever since. I am left with only bitter anguish over what could have been. I am going back to the always beautiful, possibly disease ridden, impatience. Call me shallow, but at least they look good.

IMG_3600

On a high note, the neighboring coleus, right next to the shelves of shame, is one happy little son of a gun!!!!!

We now move to the other side of the patio. On either side of our bedroom door wall is always one of my favorite areas. Plants seem to like it there. The plants did not look like this too long.

IMG_2784 (2)

This was a month or so later. On a side note, I also tried million bells on the three brick pillar pots this year. I don’t know what I was thinking either. It only solidified my certainty to never invite them back to the house. They looked like that the entire time, barely changing, until they started with the dying. WORST HOUSEGUESTS EVER!

IMG_3352

And here we are at present. The dead million bells were replaced by the seemingly always perky sun patience. I think I will try lantana there next year.

IMG_3985

I don’t know what I was thinking, but I do not have a before picture of the other side! It is a crying shame too, because that side has gone plum WILD! This is about a month ago.

IMG_3351

And two pictures of the here and now. Two because I wanted you to see how pretty the portulaca is in this first one! It is on the second shelf and it’s glorious like this all day!

IMG_3504

All the flowers close up in the evening, but this is probably a nicer picture of the area.

IMG_3983

I LOVE all of the different coleus shapes and colors!

IMG_3508

This is going down the ramp. See the tall pot on the brick?

IMG_2785 (1)

Turned into this handsome fella who lives over by the million bells of death!!!

IMG_3600

He was replaced here by another pot that features big zinnias and another nationality of coleus that I find particularly beautimous. It’s hard to believe those little pots of runty coleus grew up to be these sparkling beauties!

 IMG_3593

Speaking of runts, 7 or 8 of these little dudes…

IMG_2788 (1)

…grew into quite handsome sentinels! The gateway to the pool!

IMG_3348

We are now down by the pool area. Honey said this was one of his favorite areas. I have to say that zinnias are another one of my Precious.

IMG_2791 (1)

Boom! So happy, so reliable.

IMG_3342

Even bigger in the early morning light.

IMG_3450

Yes.

IMG_3451

This pot and its sister pot are at either end of the perennial garden.

IMG_2787 (1)

They busted out all over! The sweet little violas were given to me by my friend Dear Sandra, I had taken this picture to show her how content they were.

IMG_3340 (1)

One more shot of the patio. I have been very pleased with the effort put forth by the plants this year!!!! It’s a good thing we don’t use that door wall!

IMG_3988

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

