Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Standard

Hi guys, can you believe this is the last Hodgepodge of August? My thanks to Joyce, for hosting our weekly get together. If you would like to link up, click on the button below to head over to her place.

1.  Are there any men or women in blue on your family tree?

As a matter of fact my Father was a police officer.

IMG_2830

The current climate against the police particularly hard to see. The vast majority of officers are good men, doing a difficult and dangerous job.
2. Are you someone who suffers from the Sunday night blues? What helps you get over it?

I’m not. I have not been a ‘working for the weekend’ kind of girl in a long, long time. Also, Honey does not have a typical work week that involves weekends off.

3. I read the color blue is an appetite suppressant since there are very few naturally blue foods out there. How do you feel about blue cheese? Love it or blech? If you’re a fan, what’s something you like that’s made with blue cheese?

I know there are many people who love, love, love blue cheese but I am not one of them. It is potentially in the top 10 of my worst flavors, possibly tied with gorgonzola. The aftertaste reminds me of …..being sick. Sorry for the awful thought I have just placed in your mind.
4. We can’t head in to the Labor Day weekend without a related question, can we? Complete this thought: I work best when____________________.

I have the right equipment. I can’t do my job without the tools of my trade!
5. ‘Everything yields to diligence.’ Antiphanes Your thoughts? (on this particular quote or on diligence in general)

For the most part, I agree. Things usually respond to an onslaught of dedicated attention. Diligence is a noble attribute and I am a fan.

But there can always be circumstances where no amount of careful and persistent work or effort can achieve the desired result. Unfortunately, that is just how life can be. I have experienced this on several occasions, so I guess what gives me pause is the “everything” part. Sometimes no amount of perseverance, tenacity or trying can fix something that has been irreparably broken, whether it be a lost opportunity, the poor choice of another, a destroyed family, or a broken body. Life can rise from the ashes, and that is where diligence does come into play. It can’t always prevent, but it always, always hopes for improvement, even if it cannot restore.

6. The National Park Service turned 100 years old on August 25th. Have you been to many of America’s National Parks? If so share with us a favorite or two. Which National Park would you most like to visit before the next birthday rolls around?

 I looked through the whole list and I have only been to 2, the Great Smokey Mountains and the Shenandoah National Park. I might have been to the Hawaii Volcanoes, but I can’t be 100% sure. Honey has me beat by a couple, The Grand Canyon and Denali.

It is unlikely that I will get to any before my birthday next month, but I do have hopes of seeing one in Washington state in the future. Our son and his wife moved out there this summer, so it could be a possibility! They look to be surrounded by three, Olympic, Rainier and North Cascades.
7.  Bid farewell to August in seven words or less.

Done with humidity, bring on the fall!
8.  Insert your own random thought here.

Here is the Way Back When-sday part. I don’t have a picture of my Father in his police uniform, but here he is in his Army uniform. Probably around 1953, 54 or 55. Such a young son of a gun. Son of a gun is so him! I think he used that expression all my life!

IMG_2830

Thanks for stopping by!

5 responses »

  1. Lovely photo of your Dad. I’m quite relieved that neither of my sons opted for jobs in the police. It’s such a difficult job these days. I’m with you on blue cheese, really don’t like it. Enjoy the rest of your week.

    Like

  2. I salute your Dad for his service. Police work is a noble profession and most who wear a badge are noble, caring human beings trying to make a better world for their community. Thanks for stopping by my blog site. Have a great Labor Day weekend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

