Two Thankfuls For Election Day

Standard

Well, today is the day we have been waiting for. Thank goodness this election will be over.

Unfortunately we will still be as divided as ever tomorrow morning. Half the country will be seriously heartbroken and depressed, and the other half will be joyous, obnoxious, in your face, poor winners. Our country is broken and we are not in any kind of agreement about how to fix things. I don’t even think there is a consensus on what is wrong. But BOY, are people self righteous and indignant that they are in the right and have the moral high ground!

We have two seriously flawed humans as candidates, and both sides are right about that. I have been amazed with what people are willing to discount and sweep under the rug, ON BOTH SIDES. We have very different views about what are the greatest concerns we face. And just because your concerns are not my concerns, and vice versa, that doesn’t mean you are right and I am wrong, and vice versa.

I think the biggest surprise of the election is how wrong the political analysts have been. They seem to have misread the cues, misunderstood the momentum of a dissatisfied country, misjudged what so many of the people have been trying to say. WE ARE NOT HAPPY WITH OUR GOVERNMENT! 

I have looked at the platforms of the parties and made the decision of who I will support at the polls. I am not voting for the candidate I think is the most godly person, i don’t think that candidate is running. I am voting for the platform that I feel aligns closest to my beliefs. You might wonder how I can do that, but I am wondering the exact same thing about you and your opposite choice. I have prayed about this and asked the Lord for guidance, because no candidate is appealing.

Michigan is a swing state this year, and that hasn’t seriously happened for a long time, possibly since the first election I voted in 1980. Our phone has been ringing off the hook and the inbox of the answering machine has been full of campaign ads asking for our vote for this one and that one. Our mailbox has multiple flyers every day. There are signs stuck in grass all around our town showing who the resident is supporting. Oddly, the signs are mostly local, it’s like no one is proud enough of their presidential candidate to proclaim it on their lawn.

I posted this on Sunday and I am sharing it again today. This is what I believe, and this is how I want to live. No matter who is elected, God is unaffected, though you and I might be. He can use either candidate for His purposes, and ultimately He will. Whether that has a good outcome for our country or not.

IMG_4397

All that to say that I am thankful for the opportunity to vote, and that for the love of all that is good and decent, the phone calls will STOP.

4 responses »

  1. Ahhh…a voice of reason! Thank you! So well said…Amen and Amen! I’m SO thankful that God is God and I am not! (I apologize for the over-use of exclamation points…but on a day like today what else can I use?😉)

    Like

  2. You have expressed my thoughts completely. Thanks for being a voice of reason in this unreasonable election. By the way, you are becoming quite the gifted writer and I, for one, appreciate all the time and dedication you put into writing your blog. Now its back to the ads for lawyers and pills!

    Like

Leave a Reply

