Post Election Thankfulness

Standard

I am three days behind in saying what I am thankful for. Not that I haven’t been thankful. I have just been busy with life and watching more news coverage than usual. Our country is in the throes of a stunning upset and I am curious to hear the perspectives of how this has happened, how things will move forward, and what needs to be learned. There are a lot of people, as my Grandma Georgia used to say, spouting off. Some are worth listening to and others are not.

The first thing I am thankful for is the ability to have an election. Free to have the privilege to cast a vote every 4 years. Some years I have been happy with the outcome, other years I have been sad. I have been on both sides of the election coin, which is probably a good thing to experience.

I am thankful that we are allowed free speech and opinion in our country. However, that doesn’t mean the rest of us do not have the same freedom to disagree with you. Or be ashamed of you.              

IMG_4091

To the college students walking down the hall of their school carrying a Trump sign chanting “white power”, you are awful examples of the human race.

To the protester saying “people have to die, there will be casualties on both sides”, you are also an awful example of the human race.

It’s their right to say it and it’s our right to dismiss them.

The third thing I am thankful for is the resiliency of our country. This is not the first time we have been divided. Not the last time there will be an upset. The pendulum swings, course corrects and swings again, it is our way. We are extremely divided on many things, but we should all be able to agree that we want a safe, prosperous country. We don’t agree how to achieve it and this will most likely be our greatest challenge. Our country has had trials before and learned to resolve their differences. We need to remember how to do it. This election has exposed our ugly underbelly. There is work to be done on both sides.

I don’t know it it can be done, but it’s a nice thought. Have a good weekend.

One response »

Leave a Reply

