Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Standard

Howdy all! Welcome to the last November Hodgepodge of 2016! If you would like to link up, click on the button below and head over to Joyce’s, she will be glad to have you!

1. Give us three rhyming words that say something about your Thanksgiving holiday (or your most recent holiday gathering if you didn’t celebrate Thanksgiving).

Greeting, eating and fleeting!!!
2. When did you last say, ‘the more the merrier’? Did you mean it?

On Thanksgiving day. The Boy’s good friend Elyk texted and asked if we had room for him and his wife, Pug Mama. They were supposed to have gone to Iowa to be with her family in the days before the holiday, but Elyk had come down with a cold that would have made him a socially unacceptable guest. He was feeling much better by Thursday so they joined us, and the more was merrier indeed!
3. What’s one piece of advice you’d give someone who is your same age?

I don’t know what to say to this. I usually give information to my friends who are a little younger because I feel like someone should benefit from my pain/ misfortune, and if it can help others be aware, proactive, or not feel like they are losing their minds, than I consider that a win!

People my own age are usually struggling with the same junk, and we are all flocking to our slightly older friends for their advice!!!
4. You’re ordering a veggie plate, what four veggies are on it?

Asparagus, cauliflower, mushroom and potato. I would surely be missing the protein though!
5. Shop til you drop! Did you? Have you ever? Will you between now and Christmas?

Many, many, many times. Mrs. Schmenkman and I have shopped til we dropped a good deal in our younger years! Honey and I shopped til we dropped in North Carolina looking for furniture about 17 years ago.

I probably won’t anytime before Christmas. Honey and I usually only go out a couple of times for specific things and that does not equal shopping til dropping. We do a lot online anymore.
6. What’s your favorite chair in your house, and why is it a favorite?

I usually sit on the couch, but I blog in this chair so that makes it a favorite spot. Many streams of thought have been captured while sitting here.

IMG_4166 

7. Share an early memory of faith, religion, or spirituality.

I went to Sunday School every week when I was young. Some lovely, dedicated women and men faithfully taught wiggly little boys and girls about God and His plan of salvation. I remember loving flannel boards with exotic scenery, stories about Adam and Eve, Joseph and his coat of many colors, Baby Moses and then his parting the Red Sea, Jonah and the fish, and Jesus’ life, His disciples, and His death and resurrection. I am thankful for that early education from God’s Word.

8. Insert your own random thought here.

Here is the Way Back When-sday part of the post along with the November 29 thankfulness.

Here I am with The Boy around 1997 or 98.

IMG_4168

November 29th, we were so thankful that The Boy and The Dane were able to come home for Thanksgiving!!! I dropped them off at the airport at 4:30 yesterday morning and they are back in Washington state, safe and sound. It was a good visit and we will see them again in Florida in February!

IMG_4154

Thanks for stopping by!

4 responses »

  1. So glad you had your son and dil home for the holiday. I have similar memories of Sunday School and think my girls feel the same. I’m all about online Christmas shopping too. Have a great day!

    Like

Leave a Reply

