Wednesday Hodgepodge

Standard

Happy Valentine’s Day Hodgepodgers! We are in sunny Florida this week! Thank you to Joyce for rounding everybody up and giving us something to talk about! Blogging on the iPad is always a challenge, but here goes.

1. What do/did you call your grandparents? If it’s something unusual tell us the story behind the name. If you’re a grandparent what do your grands call you? Who chose your moniker?

We kicked it old school in my family, Grandma Georgia and Grandpa, and Grandma and Grandpa Hoover.

Funny you should ask what our grandchildren will call us, because Honey and I have been discussing that very thing lately! The Boy and The Dane told us around Thanksgiving that they were expecting at the end of June! Our first grand Baby!

Honey has long said he would like to be called Paisan or Paisano, which evidently is buddy or friend in Italian. I would not be surprised if this turns into Papa.

I am divided between Grandma and Grammie, which is what our kids called my Grandma Georgia. So fun to think about!

2. Ever taken a road trip along the California Coast? If so what was the highlight of your trek? If not, any desire to do so? If you were to take a trip along the California Coast what’s one attraction you’d have on your must-see list?

Honey and I have talked about heading out west to see the sights for a long time. Seeing the Redwoods is definitely on that list.

3. What are three things you don’t know how to do?

Only three!!! Surgery, space flight and scaling a mountain come quickly to mind!!

4. Tom Peters is quoted as saying, ‘Celebrate what you want to see more of.’ If that’s true what will you celebrate and more importantly, how will you celebrate?

I am sure I am not alone in observing that Facebook has become a place where unhappy people spout off about everything and everyone who has a dissenting opinion. As a relative newbie to the space (a year and a few months) even I can long for the kinder, gentler days of yore where we posted funny, inspirational, or encouraging memes, pictures of our families, comings and goings, and links to stories that were uplifting or full on hilarious.

I am weary of the politics, misinformation and mindless partisanship (on both sides) the screeching hysteria, the ugly unkindness. I am going to celebrate and encourage what I want to see more of, and that includes but is not limited to, stories about people doing good, decent, humble things. Organizations doing the Lord’s work of loving their neighbor as their self, such as Samaritan’s Purse and Mercy Ships. Liking with reckless abandon when human effort and achievements are successful and God honoring. And the funny animal videos, because good common sense, if we can’t agree on a funny animal clip, we are all going down.

5. Thursday (February 16) is National Almond Day. Do you like almonds? Which would you prefer-an Almond Joy or a macaron? What’s something you make that calls for almonds?

I do like almonds and an Almond Joy is a good use of the nut! I make a lot of low carb desserts that use ground almonds or almond flour. I also like to make roasted nuts and almonds are a celebrated feature.

6. What does Saturday morning look like at your house?

Lately I have been working on Saturday mornings. Some of my clients work during the week and are only available in the evening or Saturdays. Monday evenings and Saturday mornings are both good for me to fit them in.

7. Share with us a favorite book you’ve read this winter.

I don’t read as much as I used to, I blame the iPad, but I have already read two books while on vacation. The Penny Pinchers Club by Sarah Strohmeyer and Dandelion Summer by Lisa Wingate, neither one great, deep novels but I enjoyed them.

8. Share a random thought.

This is when it would be nice to add a picture, but from past experience I know that I would have exactly zero control of the placement of a picture, and that would cause me GREAT angst, so I will spare myself the sorrow. 

We are enjoying our vacation! Since all of our people have arrived on different days, with the final loved one arriving tomorrow, we have been on airport shuttle duty. That will continue as we start taking them all BACK to the airport so they can return to their places of origin. Honey and I will remain for the last few days.

We have plans to look at some houses, condos and coach homes, so we can come to the conclusion, yet again, that we don’t know what we want to do when Honey retires next year. It is our way. 

Thanks for stopping by!

2 responses »

  1. Yes, I agree with your comment on Facebook. I joined to chat with a friend in England – I thought it was so neat that I could type a comment and her response would pop right up. I limit my Facebook friends to family and friends I would invite into my home – I don’t “friend” people I meet casually or accept their friend requests as it is not a networking tool for me. I want to feel comfortable sharing news and photos of my family with the people I hope will enjoy seeing them. Facebook certainly has become a soapbox for many, it’s a shame.

    Like

Leave a Reply

