A List!

Standard

Now that the vacation memories have been posted I feel like I have odds and ends to share. Smells like a list to me.

It was evidently beautiful and warm in The Mitten while we were in Florida. It has only been cold, snowy and rainy since our return. There has been sunshine, but it has been nippy. I have observed a lot of chirpy, happy, spring is coming type posts on Facebook, but I have lived in Michigan long enough to know that the spring date is merely a suggestion.

I have been doing a little shredding for Honey. He has rigged up a contraption to make the job easier.

IMG_4600

We have already filled up one whole bag with stuff from the late 80s and 90s! I have been shredding a lot of returned checks, remember when they returned them? Because I can only do 2 or 3 at a time I find myself looking at who they were made out to, and that has been rather interesting! And sad. I have come across a lot made out to my Mom and to our friend Michelle, who passed away last fall. She was a Creative Memories consultant and I made good use of her services. There are also lots of checks to the kids school and Scholastic for book orders, and about a gajillion to Meijer and Target. A little snapshot of our life. I also shredded a lot of financial papers and was reminded that Honey started putting away money for savings and the kids education from the start! I am so thankful for Honey and his skills!

 

In our study of John at BSF we have been learning more about The Holy Spirit. I love learning about this. The Holy Spirit and His conviction is one of the things I am most thankful for in life. I asked Jesus to be my Savior when I was a young girl and spent the next 20 or so years having doubts I did it “right”. As I intentionally started walking with the Lord, I realized that the still, small voice that I heard and felt was guiding me in life and causing me to recognize when I was not doing the right thing. It gave me such assurance! I know the enemy is not convicting me of my failings to bring me to repentance and restoration, he only wants me to suffer from guilt and condemnation. I know the enemy does not give me true direction and joy, he only lives to create disaster, dissention and division.

IMG_4602

I am God’s child!!! This is how I can be sure! The enemy is NOT testifying with my spirit that I belong to God, I’ll tell you that!

We are in the dog days of winter and I find I have no gumption to do much of anything. I am ‘in a relationship’ with Netflix. I seem to be slightly obsessed with watching Bones and The Great British Bakeoff. I know, what a combination.

Bones reminds me somewhat of my previous obsession with CSI Miami. Mindlessly watching others figure out crimes and cleverly solving murders. It has its place.

The Great British Bakeoff is an education of a different sort! Probably not the best thing to be watching in my current state of dietary incarceration (more about that tomorrow!)

These are the hosts, Mary Berry and Paul Hollywood. I love listening to them talk about food, it’s almost hypnotic! They use words I don’t know, the contestants cook things I have never heard of, and yet I am oddly fascinated.

IMG_4603

The contestants are usually darling and so sweet and generally helpful to each other. One of my favorite things at the moment.

Ok, I need to scoot, be back tomorrow with the diet post.

Leave a Reply

