Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Standard

Hi Guys, welcome to another edition of Wednesday Hodgepodge. My thanks to Joyce for hosting and giving us something to talk about!

From this Side of the Pond

1. Setting aside the real March Madness (NCAA Basketball) describe something happening at your house this month that might earn the title ‘March Madness’?

I am participating in the Whole 30 diet this month and I’ve got to say it’s madness, or just maddening. I wrote about some of my observations here. I understand why they call it whole 30, as in whole foods, nothing artificial or contraband, but I feel like a more apt title is the Less 30. Mama is cranky. Anyway, I am focusing my laser like attention on April 4th. I will celebrate by putting cream back into my tea. Hallelujah!!

2. What’s a favorite made up word from your childhood or a favorite from your children’s childhood? Does your family still use the word today? If there’s a story behind the origin please share.

Our kids did not typically make up the word, they usually just mispronounced the word. Honey is the word maker upper around here. Things like joofered (which means all screwed up) and ESKATA and SABADASKA, that are usually yelled loudly and can mean several things, surprise, anger, victory. I have heard these words coming out of the mouths of our children as well.

My brother Beeve combined a couple words when he was a young boy. He once indignantly said “Well, evidentually you just don’t know!” I still use that one.

3. Will you be doing any spring cleaning now that the season is upon us? I read here a list of 15 quick (under one hour) spring cleaning tasks. They were-
clean out a drawer, vacuum furniture, whiten tile grout, dust the nooks and crannies you don’t get to year round, degrease kitchen cabinets, wipe down walls, go behind furniture, wipe down ceiling fans, vacuum the mattress, clean the range hood, wash baseboards, shine the stainless steel, clean out vents, tackle the windows, and wipe down gadgets

Of the fifteen ‘quick’ tasks listed which two most need doing at your house? Will you do them?

I of do a lot of these things when I notice they have gotten out of hand! All it takes is a bright, sunny day to make me realize that we have very productive spiders in our foyer!

Our windows need to be cleaned but it’s probably too soon to tackle that. April will be a better time.

The other afternoon I was sitting by the window with Mousey having a conversation and  noticed the wood blinds and the window panes behind them were a little ….furry. That probably means that our fans need a little attention as well. In my defense, we have 4 cats, we will never be fur free around here.

I will get to it shortly.:)

4. A favorite movie set in Paris or New York?

Easy peasy, You’ve Got Mail, set in New York City.

5. What’s put a spring in your step this month?

Honey says he is officially retiring in one year, let the countdown begin!

6. Did you ever want to be a teacher? Why or why not?

I am sure I entertained the thought at some point but not enough to put any rubber to the road. I did not particularly enjoy school but I have definitely benefitted from some wonderful teachers, our children as well. The Ab-Cat is currently a para professional at an elementary school and I hear about the challenges the teachers and staff face on a regular basis. There seems to be a lot more dysfunction than I remember, for myself or our kids. Teachers have a difficult job meshing learning, personalities, behavior, and encouraging students to catch the excitement of experiencing new things. My hat is off to them. The naughty kids would do me in.

7.  What’s your favorite floral scent? Do you have this somewhere in your home or maybe in a perfume? How do you feel about florals in food? How about wines with floral notes-yay or nay?

I am not a gal who likes a lot of smells around me. No air fresheners, limited candles, rare perfume. Some smells actually give me headaches, and I’m talking to you lady with the heavy handed perfume squirter. I like floral smells in nature, not in food and I don’t drink wine.
8. Insert your own random thought here.

Here is the Way Back When-sday part of the post.

A big Happy Birthday goes out to my Dad this week! Here he is with two year old Ab-Cat, his special girl! My folks were wonderful about helping with our children, but they kept Abby for us two days a week while I was still working, and it created a very strong bond. I showed him this picture when he came to get his haircut earlier this week. He said “Awww, there’s my Little Love!”

 IMG_4605

Grandfather extraordinaire! Games, swimming, Barbie’s, you name it, he played it.

IMG_0006 (2)

Faithful is a word that comes to mind. In family, in faith and in life.

IMG_0001 (3)

Patient applies as well!

013

We will celebrate him this weekend with dinner and his favorite, pineapple upside down cake.

IMG_3112

IMG_5499

With his best friend, Mrs. H.

IMG_1809

Happy Happy Birthday Dad/Grandpa!! You are VERY loved!!!!!!!

IMG_3133

Thanks for stopping by!

8 responses »

  1. Happy Birthday to your dad!

    I enjoyed reading your answers. I’ve been enjoying participating in the hodgepodge so much! Great way to learn about fellow bloggers.

    Like

  2. I dodge the heavy handed perfume sprayers too : ) Happy birthday to your Dad! Enjoy celebrating him as he deserves! And congrats on retirement!! Any relo plans?

    Like

  3. My favorite movie takes place in neither locations. My fave takes place in AustRAHlia, Mrs Boss! It’s called “Australia”, starring Hugh Jackman & Nicole Kidman.
    Give Mr. Frank a Happy Birthday hug from me.

    Like

  4. Ever since I quit my job, I have (regrettably) not followed your blog. I had a routine at work of reading your blog at lunchtime — and when I left I got out of sync. The past few days I have been catching up! I am still about 10 months behind but closing the gap! 🙂 I am enjoying your insights once again. So thankful for you, my dear friend! ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

