The 22nd Year of The Memorial Day Extravaganza!!!!

Standard

Hi Guys!

I know, I have been a terrible blogger. I don’t really have a reason or even an excuse. I have just fallen off the word wagon and though the desire is still there, it may take some practice and determination to hoist the body back onto the broken down cart!

When I finally do get onto this computer, I have things to share, but then I think of things I should have shared a long time ago and I feel a little defeated and not sure where to start. So I am just JUMPING IN HERE! It might be a little herky jerky for a while, but please bear with me. Spellcheck is trying to tell me that herky is not a word. Go on with your bad self Spellcheck. Which is also not a word.

I have been home from Virginia a week and I haven’t shown a picture! I was telling Mrs. Schmenkman that I always seem to take pictures of the same things whilst at Sassy Cat Hill, so as a result, I did not take many photos. Here we are at the beginning of the trip, and I am going to have to do a small smackeral of that back tracking I was mentioning above.

On May 20 we gathered with family to celebrate my Father on the second anniversary of his passing. Always a nice time of visiting and reconnecting with family.

  IMG_5169

While there I had a conversation with my SIL Karen about doughnuts. As you do. I was telling her about the truly awesome doughnuts that Honey brings home from Tasty Boy occasionally on his way home from work. Occasionally because they are dangerously good and WE DON’T NEED THAT KIND OF INTENTIONAL SIN IN OUR LIFE. So back to Karen. She said she would have to try them. I then said that perhaps Honey could bring home a 6 pack and I could bring her one.

Karen works for Delta airlines and she knows about my yearly trek to Virginia for the Hootenanny. Every time I am in the airport I look for her, but I have never seen her there. I told her I would bring her doughnut, text her when I arrived at the airport, and she could tell me which gate she was at that morning, it sounded so fun!

When I texted her she said you are not going to believe this, but I am working your gate to Washington Dulles!!!! So there she was! Looking good for 6 A.M.!

IMG_5089 (1)

She introduced me to the flight crew, asked them to take good care of me, may or may not have given me a seat with more leg room and the potential for better snacks, and then chatted for a while because there were only 23 people on the entire plane!!! All for a doughnut! It was such a treat to see her!

I was swimming in leg room! Which, when you are Shaq, is a pretty good deal!

IMG_5090

And then Mrs. Schmenkman picked me and my carry on packed inside my checked bag up, and the shopping began! We always have some goals when we start, and then find other treasures along the way. We were both in the market for black sandals. I am always on the hunt for comfortable, cute shoes/sandals. I blame my problematic hooves. I had quite a bit of shoe luck and she found the most comfortable black sandals ever, like walking on clouds she said!

When we arrived at Sassy Cat Hill, Miss Poppet took up residence on my lap for the duration. She was not pleased with the iPad situation, or me making her sit on a pillow to prevent her from snagging my pants with her fingernails. We did give her a manicure and that was a big help. I love that little kitty witty booly wooly!

IMG_5092

Schmenkie lives surrounded by nature. This was from the car, one of several we saw, and I’m not even car observant!

IMG_5110

She is super observant because she is a certified wildlife rehabilitator, so that keeps her a bit busy. She is frequently getting calls about wild animals needing attention. She almost got a baby otter when I was there, but other arrangements were made. This trip she had 2 squirrels who were getting ready for release. They are in their outside transitioning cage.

IMG_5094

And this little girl was still in the baby area in her basement. I think she is almost ready for the outside transition cage. Possums are a little creepy to me and Schmenkie and I agreed it was their tails. She said this little one was not bitey at all, which was my main concern after seeing all them teeth!

This picture amuses me a little. Schmenk always says she doesn’t have to get all beautified because the animals don’t care what she looks like, but here is her manicured hand holding a baby possum. Amusing.

IMG_5117

Look at their feets!!! They look like monkey hands! Good for gripping and so, so soft!!! I did, I touched the feets!!!!

IMG_5119

The shopping continued, as did the eating and the chatting. It’s such a treat to visit and catch up like this every year! She has such a different life than I do and I learn so much from her. She is a good steward of God’s creatures.

Schmenkie set a goal for herself last year to walk every day for a year and on June 23 she will reach it!!! We walked every day and it was so fun to see her greeting all of the people she has met on her usual path! It was like a community! She is so dedicated too! Not a fair weather walker like Keelyody and myself! She walked all winter in most weather and on the treadmill only when heinous outside, And of course, she brought peanuts for the squirrels and keeps her eyes open for all the other critters that might cross her path.

We did our hairs, and then tweaked multiple times. That’s hairdressers for you, forever tweaking.

We talked of many things, and marveled that we can’t shop all day, every day, like we used to! One day we never even left the house! Well, except to walk. We went out to dinner a couple times with her sweet husband Mr C, who is very gracious to let me hog her every Memorial Day! He actually invited me to come back and bring Honey so they could fish and do manly things.

Before we knew it we needed to take our traditional last day picture. We started in the house, which was awesome for her and made my glasses all squirrelly. Well, we can always crop the other out if we need a new Facebook profile picture!

IMG_5120

to the back yard! I quite like this one. There is so much to consider when middle aged woman get to photographing themselves. Head angle, chin coverage, weird folds in the neck, best sides, chest wrinkles, eyes open!

IMG_5138

Mainly where am I supposed to be looking?? A common theme for me this photo shoot!

IMG_5141

Better.

IMG_5143

Awww!

IMG_5146

This could have been my favorite! ARGGGGG!

IMG_5149

Loving this!

IMG_5153

Checking out her Do!

IMG_5154

It’s starting to get away from us…

IMG_5127

…no…

IMG_5128

…heck no.

IMG_5137

Heart emoji!!!

IMG_5144

The Schmenkmans!

IMG_5129

I told her we were at a distinct disadvantage. This generation we have now spends a lot of time perfecting their selfie face in the mirror and on their cell phones, they are TOTALLY ready for their close ups! All we have are orange-y  far away, non edited pictures from the 70s in our past!

Poppet was on her princess pillow when I left, going to miss that wobbly little lady!

IMG_5161

One last selfie, or us-y, showcasing her cutey cute new sun glasses! Love youuuuuuuuu! Thanks for having me Schmenkie, AGAIN!!!

IMG_5164

2 responses »

  1. We need to become proficient in photo shop! Loved having you here as always and it’s back to no nail polish and scruffy t-shirts and jeans for me. Still loving my haircut!

    Like

Leave a Reply

