Ann Arbor Garden Walk Part 1

Standard

The Peanuts Champ, The Back Door Neighbor and I did something fun on Saturday, we hit up the 27th annual Ann Arbor Garden Walk! We went early because they were predicting some melting temps.

IMG_3222

Love that succulent.

IMG_4042

The first house had all these beautiful rock walls! The terrain in Ann Arbor seems to be somewhat steep. Probably not everywhere, but certainly most of the homes on the garden walk! Possibly to show the creativity of the gardeners! This house was steep in the front, hence the rock walls.

IMG_4031

Loved these steps!

IMG_4021

Children or perhaps grandchildren names woven into the grout, plus faithful pooch-i-doo’s paw prints.

IMG_4022

We have decided that we all have the boring kind of hosta and would like to branch out with these giant beauties!

IMG_4023

I have a few shepherd hooks that I don’t want to hang a pot on, it never occurred to me to hang something else!

IMG_4024

When I was walking with Mrs. Schmenkman on her favorite path last month, there was a pretty little tree that I just loved, some sort of variegated pink beech. This house had a huge glorious one! Heart emoji!!

IMG_4028

I love how they used this small sedum in this small space.

IMG_4029

I took several pictures of the second house because it had an awesome front porch and The Ab-Cat does love a good front porch!

IMG_4053 

The owner said it was a great place to watch a rain storm!

IMG_4034

So FUN!

IMG_4035

I am also a fan of a stone pathway.

IMG_4036

This picture was for Honey, an add on with a granite top for your BBQ-ing needs. A possible option on his post retirement list of things to do!

IMG_4037

This house also had a screened in back porch, additionally delightful!

IMG_4038

Don’t mind me, just being NOSEY!

IMG_4040

And a swell patio. Lots of room to visit at this house!

IMG_4039

This house had a definitely challenging, sloping backyard.

IMG_4045

Heart this!

IMG_4047

Their yard abruptly ended here, backing up to a cemetery. Very quiet neighbors out back!

IMG_4049

They made good use of their space, very lush and green.

IMG_4051

Purty pot.

IMG_4052

This house did not slope.

IMG_4055

Another nice porch for Ab.

IMG_4057

We noticed several interesting things about this home. I am guessing these stones helped with a drainage situation. I like this because we also have a drainage situation in our back. I can copy like a BOSS!

IMG_4059

They had a small back deck,

IMG_4061

surrounded by this pretty scene.

IMG_4062

And then a much lesser slope down to this pretty patio.

IMG_4063

I took this picture to send to my SIL Karen who sells succulents. A bowlful of pretty!

IMG_4065

They had considerable shade so their fancy hosta were very content.

IMG_4064

Still content.

IMG_4067

This was along the side of the house next to the driveway. I actually have one of these pots, given to me by my friend Teri. I could use it as a herb pot!!!!! How cute is that??!

IMG_4068

This was a great idea. Cute little decorative area.

IMG_4069

Hiding the dumb hose on the other side!!! Pretty meets function, my favorite! This house was number one for me in the idea department.

IMG_4071

The Peanuts Champ pointed this out to us. It never fails, people work their tails off to have a beautiful yard and garden and the neighbors still have a Halloween decoration out!!! Good for a laugh!

IMG_4073

That’s it for part one, tune in tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

