Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Standard

Hi Guys, it’s been a while! If you would like to join us, click on the link below to head over to Joyce’s. Glad to back with you!

From this Side of the Pond

1. The Hodgepodge lands on June 14th this week, Flag Day in the US of A. Do you fly your country’s flag at home? Sometimes, often, or every single day? Have you ever visited the city of Brotherly Love (Philadelphia)? Did you make a point of seeing The Betsy Ross House? Have you ever made a trip to Baltimore? If so, was Fort McHenry on your itinerary? (where Francis Scott Key was inspired to write The Star Spangled Banner)

I have never been to any of those places but would be happy to go!

We have a flagpole but it is currently without a flag. We used to have a light shining on it so you could leave it up throughout the night, but electricity was severed when we had The Great Sewer Debacle and Honey has never gotten back around to restoring it. Next year perhaps when he is RETIRED!!!!

Flag Day was also notable as my Grandmother’s birthday. My Uncle Bob texted me last night to tell me she would have been 104 today, unbelievable!!! Even more unbelievable is she has been gone for almost 25 years.

IMG_5199

One of my favorite people ever.

2. Red flag or white flag? Which have you encountered most recently? Explain.

A little of both. The red flags of health issues, the white flags of acceptance or resignation. This Temple Maintenance is a drag sometimes.
3. Are you a stay in the car listen to the end of a song kind of person? What kind of person is that?

I certainly used to be! I rarely listen to music in the car these days,

I sometimes listen to a Chris Tomlin or Matt Redmon cd while driving to BSF, and I sometimes finish the song in the parking lot before I head in. The odd thing is I always turn it off when I get back in the car after class! I guess I have too much stuff swirling around in my brain and it needs quiet!
4. What are some of the traits or qualities you think a good dad possesses? In other words, what makes a good dad? What’s an expression you associate with your father?

I think a good dad builds into his children, and there are a lot of ways to accomplish that. You can love your children a lot, but if it doesn’t manifest itself in any practical, emotional or spiritual way, I don’t think success was achieved.

I think Honey was an overachiever in this area. He has always worked a ton of hours, yet he has parented lovingly and intentionally. There have been many years when our family was the only thing extracurricular he had time for! He has fiercely loved, cared for, advocated for, made time for, and intentionally invested in their lives in creative, steady, and fun ways.

He is not a perfect man, but I think all of our children would agree that they knew his love was firm and unshakable, he was committed to helping them in all areas, he faithfully provided for their needs, was able to provide many opportunities that he was never able to experience, and he spent much time trying to instill in them a sense of fun and creativity, a strong work ethic, along with training them in the way that they should go, so that when they are old they will not depart from it. Well done Honey!!
5. What’s one rule you always disagreed with while growing up? Is that rule somehow still part of your adult life? Is that a good or bad thing?

The only thing I can think of at the moment was our Mom would not let us have a house key in our younger years. It probably had something to do with safety or not wanting to have a ton of kids in the house if she wasn’t home, but all I can remember is sitting on the front porch waiting for her to arrive, and having to go to the bathroom!!!!!!
6. Insert your own random thought here.

Here is the Way Back When-sday part of the post!

Speaking of good Dads, here is mine with his little Furlings!

Our kids had many happy visits out to my parents lake house, and swimming with this raft probably is one their favorite memories!! It is also one of my favorite pictures because I don’t know who had more fun on it, them or my Dad!!!! I love his face here and can hear his laughing!

I just showed it to him because he spent the night so I can take him to the airport this afternoon. He agreed that it was a fine memory in his museum of recollection!

IMG_2400

All his grandkids on our side. They love him so!

IMG_4983

And pictures of Honey and his kids! In front of The White House.

 IMG_2208

At Kalahari.

IMG_2396

Playing Golf on one of our trips to Florida.

IMG_2204

And the usual rumpus that precedes a photo shoot!

IMG_2412

IMG_2411

IMG_2415

IMG_2417

Happy Fathers Day to the Dads!!!!!

Thanks for stopping by!

4 responses »

  1. Your mention of BSF brought back fond memories. I attended for two or three years back when I lived in south Florida. What a wonderful group of ladies and what powerful study we engaged in each week. It’s no wonder that you can’t listen to anything on your drive home. You need to process what you’ve heard.

    Like

Leave a Reply

