Way Back When-sday Hodgepodge

Standard

Happy first day of summer! Click on the button below if you would like to link up. Here we go!

From this Side of the Pond

1. The first day of summer rolls in later this week. What are ten things you’d put on your list of  quintessential summer activities? Will you try to manage all ten this summer?

Going to get ice cream, making smores around the fire pit, eating dinner on the patio, going to my aunt and uncles cottage on Gun Lake, playing cards there, riding bikes, South Haven with the Caregroup gals, family swim day in our pool, dinners with friends, and BBQ!!!. We will try to get it all in!
2. Do you collect seashells when you’re at the beach? What do you do with them once you get them home? What’s your favorite place to comb for seashells? How many of these ‘best beaches for hunting seashells’ have you visited? Which one would you most like to visit?
Calvert Cliffs State Park (Maryland), Jeffrey’s Bay (South Africa), Sanibel Island (Florida), Shipwreck Beach (Lanai Hawaii), Ocracoke Island (North Carolina), Galveston Island (Texas) and The Bahamas

I do! We like to walk on the beach so for the last few years we have kept our eyes pealed for heart shaped shells and rocks, and other pretty shells. These are some of my finds

IMG_5011

I put these in the bathroom.
IMG_5278

I don’t remember shelling when I went to The Bahamas, but we have done some on Sanibel. I will pick Hawaii because Honey has never been and I would like for him to go.

3. At a snail’s pace, shell out money, come out of your shell, go back into your shell, drop a bombshell, happy as a clam, clam up...which ‘shell’ phrase could most recently be applied to some event or circumstance in your life? Explain.

Probably shell out money, don’t we all? Right now we have 2 cars that need attention, a pool problem and a busted hedge trimmer. Sounds like money shelling out to me.
4. What summer activity do you dislike? Why?

I’m going to say cutting the grass. It’s not so much the activity I dislike, it’s more the heat and humidity makes me feel like I’m going to spontaneously COMBUST.
5. What’s something you see as quickly becoming obsolete? Does that bother you?

On the lighter side, land lines, road maps and letters in the mail. On a sadder more serious side, the art of conversation, children playing outside, common sense, the ability to disagree with someone without screaming long names at them, humility, class, honesty, integrity, comprehending that we sometimes need to focus on what unites us instead of always focusing on what divides us.

It bothers me. A lot.
6. Insert your own random thought here.

As I mentioned above, today is the first day of summer. I know this because 26 years ago today, at 3:07 in the morning, I had our son on the first day of summer! A precious, sweet, boy who brought joy and laughter to our life.

IMG_5281

And noises and mischief!

IMG_2034

And that same Boy is due to have his own baby in 9 days! We have been writing letters and they are full of his excitement to meet his daughter. I told him his life is about to change forever.

IMG_5020

He said he already loves her so much! But like The Grinch, your heart grows three sizes more when you actually meet them!

IMG_5012

He and The Dane called yesterday because they were writing in the baby book and needed some names and dates for the family tree. For a minute I thought they were calling to tell us some news!!!! You never know!

They are so ready to meet their baby girl!

IMG_5015

I also told The Boy that the feeling you have for your baby never goes away. Even when you look at your big grown son you think the words from one of our favorite books;

I’ll love you forever, I’ll like you for always, as long as I’m living my baby you’ll be.

Happy Birthday Boy, your world is about to change, and you will never want to go back.

IMG_0260

Thanks for stopping by.

6 responses »

  1. Must tell you… I got a little teary eyed as I read about the Boy having his own baby. It is so true about your heart growing 3x bigger and that intense love never leaving you no matter how big those babies get!!

    Like

  2. Ahh, how precious that your baby boy is about to see his baby girl. Our middle boy is the one who has the new little 3 month old daughter. Too sweet. So great to watch a son be a dad. Love the heart shaped stones and shells you’ve found. Yes and yes on #5. Hope you hear the news soon!

    Like

  3. All your obsoletes are so good. Happy birthday to your son and congratulations to them on the baby. So exciting. I would like to collect shells, but have never been on a beach that really had any good for collecting.

    Like

  4. I’m so excited for you! Will you be making a trip out to WA soon? My daughter is due in a little less than 6 weeks and I cannot wait! Happy belated birthday to your baby boy soon to be Daddy : )

    Like

  5. Love your “heart rocks”. And, those pics of The Boy growing up are so adorable! I love adorable photos of my boys, they help forget that could be little stinkers too. 😉

    Like

Leave a Reply

