Wednesday Hodgepodge

Standard

Can you believe we are almost half way through July???!!! This summer is whizzing by! If you would like to link up, click on the button below and head over to our hostess Joyce’s blog, she will guide you along!

From this Side of the Pond

1. When was the last time you chatted with a neighbor? About what? (sharing that last bit is optional)

We chat with neighbors as the opportunity arises. We hardly see a living soul in the winter months, but come spring we all come out of hibernation and are glad to see each other. The last two conversations I had were with our neighbors on each side. Our neighbor on the left was taking a walk while her youngest little guy rode his bike. She told me they were moving in the fall, to a ranch so it would be easier for her aging in-laws to get around. I gave her a hug and told her I was sorry to see them go! She and her husband bought their home from his sister (also a sweet neighbor!) and they were young marrieds when they came. They now have 2 sweet little boys that we have watched grow, we will miss them!

The gal on the other side is closer to our age and we talked about the usual things that people in our age bracket speak of, health, aging, children, grandchildren and retirement and beyond! I pray for our neighbors when I cut the lawn so it’s good to catch up and learn how I can pray more specifically.
2. River, lake, ocean, or waterfall…which one are you most like and why?

I probably have more experience on a lake. My aunt and uncle have owned a cottage on Gun Lake since I was in high school and we have always loved visiting them! Life is different on a lake, so peaceful without all the hustle and bustle of every day life.

IMG_3367

I think this will be our eighth annual getaway with the gals from our Caregroup. We head over to South Haven on Lake Michigan, and that is always a fun time! Once again, I think of a lake as a break from my usual life so there is more free time to lounge, talk, beach, shop and eat with loved ones!

IMG_4076

I don’t mind the ocean but I don’t like to go in anymore. Jaws came out at a formative time in my life and I have never swam comfortably in the sea AGAIN!!!!!
3. July 13 is National Delaware Day. Ever been to Delaware? Delaware is called ‘the first state’ because it was the first to declare independence from the British. What’s your state’s nickname and does that moniker make sense to you? If you were in charge, what nickname would you give your home state?

I don’t believe I have ever been to Delaware. Our state, Michigan, is commonly called The Mitten State and The Wolverine State. The former because of our unique shape, and that is how I refer to it on the blog. The Wolverine State is a little trickier. I learned this fun fact in Mrs. Horton’s first grade classroom, so it is linked inextricably in my mind, but I am here to tell you I have never in my life seen a loose wolverine, nor has anyone I know!

Our state motto is “If you seek a pleasant peninsula, look about you.“, which has spawned the wonderful Tim Allen (native son!) ads calling it Pure Michigan, I think this is very appropriate! Our state is beautiful in all seasons, but especially in fall and summer. I was not as impressed with this when younger, but I surely do appreciate the beauty we Michiganders are exposed to regularly!
4. What dish did you contribute to the last pot luck meal you attended? Do you have a go-to recipe for pot luck suppers?

The last pot luck  I attended was our end of year BSF lunch and I brought Sinful Saltines. They are a yummy little sweet and salty dessert a former BSF-fer used to bring, and when she was no longer in leadership I asked her for the recipe because the ladies were all really missing them!!! I also take them when I serve at funeral luncheons and someone almost always asks me for the recipe! It’s not that I am a scrumptious baker, it’s more they are so easy monkeys could make them!!! And I always have the ingredients on hand.

Another go-to pot luck recipe is cheesy potatoes. They are always so good with practically everything and there are hardly ever any leftovers. I have a really good cheese ball recipe that has come in handy for an appetizer.
5. What is your number one tip for a brand new parent?

Ah, funny you should ask! Our son and daughter-in-law just had their first baby a week and a half ago and they have been having a few new parent struggles. I believe my advice was that this is a hard time but it will pass.

And I am praying it passes in a timely fashion 🙂
6. Insert your own random thought here.

There’s our new little Moon Pie! She has already changed a bunch since she arrived!

IMG_5063

A sleeping angel baby.

IMG_5332

Here she is all bright eyed and bushy tailed!

IMG_5329 (1)

On her first ferry ride out to Whidbey Island in Washington state. The Dane said this was her first wrap experience and the baby was SO content and very comfy! A tiny marsupial in her very own pouch!

IMG_5337

Hopefully the new family is getting a little shut eye, always a challenge in the first months.

IMG_5342 (1)

Hi sweet little bay-bee! ❤

IMG-5117

I totally lifted a couple of these from their Instagram accounts.

Thanks for stopping by, enjoy your July!

One response »

Leave a Reply

