Wednesday Hodgepodge

Standard

Hi All! We had a little tech difficulty last week where our computer declined to open the internet. At All. But Honey did something and we are now back in business! Here we go with The Hodgepodge.

From this Side of the Pond

1. We’ve reached edition number 315 here in the Wednesday Hodgepodge. So tell us, what were you doing at 3:15 yesterday? Is that typical? On a scale of 1-10 (with 1 being low and 10 being high) what’s your energy level usually like at 3:15 PM?

I was driving on the freeway, and that’s not what I typically do at that precise time of day. My energy level is pretty good at that time, not as fresh as the morning but a solid 6. If I were going to run out of steam, it probably would have happened earlier than that. I try not to nap after 2, it interferes with sleeping at night. And I believe that sentence is officially the most old lady thing I have ever expressed on the blog!!!!!
2. A frisbee, a tantrum, a towel, a party, a punch, or a curveball…which have you most recently thrown or had thrown at/for you? Elaborate.

I’m sorry, but I can’t make any of these fit! The thing that has been thrown at me lately is WORK! This is the busiest summer I have had in a really long time! Call that a curveball if you would like. I have started keeping a constant running list on my counter of appointments so I don’t forget anyone, which is a very real possibility in these days of forgetfulness!
3. What are three things that would help you right now. Tell us how or why.

A transporter, like on Star Trek, would come in handy so we could pop over to Washington state and see our new granddaughter! We will go on August 11, in a regular old plane.

A housekeeper would always be a wonderful extravagance, to combat the above mentioned work/activity schedule/tiredness! it would ensure that there would be no debris or cat fur on our hardwood floors, fur or dust on the window blinds, and de-cobweb the work that our evidently super busy house spiders do! And clean the dang shower, man I hate that job!

Some professional landscapers to rework a few areas of our yard that are currently bugging me. They would get done in TWO DAYS what it would take me all summer to accomplish!
4. Do you think you’re strong? Why or why not? What makes you strong?

I think I am fairly strong both emotionally and physically. Emotionally because we have had unusual trials in our family and experienced firsthand that the Lord is a firm foundation when lashed by the storms of this life.

Matthew 7:24-27

24 “Anyone who listens to my teaching and follows it is wise, like a person who builds a house on solid rock. 25 Though the rain comes in torrents and the floodwaters rise and the winds beat against that house, it won’t collapse because it is built on bedrock. 26 But anyone who hears my teaching and doesn’t obey it is foolish, like a person who builds a house on sand. 27 When the rains and floods come and the winds beat against that house, it will collapse with a mighty crash.”

When you know He is reliable in times of trouble, it helps you endure the next time crisis or hardship comes flooding your way. I think that makes you strong emotionally. Some of our torrents had the very real potential to dash us against the rocks and break us into a million pieces. I also think that I come from emotionally strong women. Life did not always turn out the way my Mother or Grandmother planned, but they modeled what to do. You get up, work hard, don’t wallow in your misfortune, take care of your people, depend on the Lord and live with joy. You just get on with it. I had good examples 🙂

I think I am fairly physically strong because I am a pretty tall girl and can haul a lot of stuff!!!!
5. Do you enjoy reading historical fiction? What’s your favorite book set sometime in the past?

I do, from all sorts of time periods! I love to get a little historical learnin’ whilst enjoying a good fictional story! The first favorite that came to mind was A Voice in the Wind by Francine Rivers. You would not think that a book set in 70 A.D., just after the fall of Jerusalem to the Roman Empire, would be a great read, but you would be wrong! It follows the story of captured young Jewish Christian Hadassah as she is forced into slavery. I learned much about how things were in that time period and of the persecution of  the early Christians. I know Hadassah was a fictional character, but I want to be her when I grow up! Her simple faith, prayer life, dependence on the Lord, and example of serving in love were so inspiring. There is a sequel too, even BETTER!!!!!! 
6. Insert your own random thought here.

Our random thoughts these days revolve around getting our daily pictures of our granddaughter Moon Pie! The kids have been good to send pictures and little videos of her making super sweet little noises and movements! It helps a LOT when we are so far away!

IMG-5173

IMG-5175

IMG-5176

IMG-5177

Thanks for stopping by, enjoy your week!

3 responses »

  1. Oh you have a sweet little granddaughter, too. Precious photos. I liked your responses to #3. Very helpful things for sure. Happy Hodgepodge to you.

    Like

  2. Oh your little grandaughter is darling. I am sure your visit can’t come soon enough for sweet snuggles. Enjoy meeting you ladies through Hodgepodge.

    Like

  3. She is just precious! I’m sure you’re anxious to get out there and see her in person, but thank heaven for technology that fills in the gaps we live with given our geography.

    Like

Leave a Reply

