Ninth Annual Girls Getaway to South Haven!

Standard

We arrived home from Lake Michigan on Thursday evening after adding another chapter of memories to the South Haven recollection book! But first, back to the beginning.

Four of us left The Corn Capital of Michigan (so I am told, but we have no corn anymore) on Monday morning in The Oreo Mom’s comfy Escape, marveling at our ability to pack lighter this year!!!!! Just look at all that space!!! It’s never happened before!

IMG-5374

Here we are, standing TALL from the left:Capri K (aka Shaq), The Oreo Mom, Three Good Kids and The Peanuts Champ, ready for adventure, fun, good conversation, shopping and food!

IMG-5378

We talked all the way across The Mitten with nary a lull, we even missed our usual exit for lunch at our usual place, but managed to find a new place and squeezed in a little Steinmart excursion. We decided that our trip last year was a little later in August, and therefore it did not have the rock bottom deals that we remembered from the previous year. I did notice that this particular store did not have my beloved Bandolino pull on skinny jeans, and it makes me want to RACE over to the one in Ann Arbor to buy some more in case they are discontinuing them!!!! They are My Precious!

We had decided to do our food shopping on arrival, hence all the extra room in the car! It worked out perfect! Shortly after we arrived in South Haven we added one more to the party, our dear friend Ally, one half of the famously loved team of Sammon and Ally! here she is on the left, another short friend!

IMG-5383

Since we find the restaurants in the area to be not our cup of tea, we ate dinners in. Yummy chicken with roasted potatoes and asparagus and Ally’s beef stew in the crockpot, which we had on beach day, INGENIUS!!!!!

We were able to watch three sunsets and the first one was the best.

 IMG-5388

You know what’s hard to do? Take a picture of a sunset with your phone, because it never looks like what is in front of your eyes. So you try and bring it in closer and …..no, it’s never right.

IMG-5451

The first day we hung out at the beach and I probably made everyone happy by NOT taking or posting any pictures. Because I know I am not keen on a bathing suit photo shoot, that ship sailed DECADES ago.

The next day we went to the farmers market in South Haven before heading up to Holland for some shopping. I was loving their pretty flower pots and shop displays!

As you know I am a huge fan of the coleus, and I don’t know what that pretty little edged yellow flower was, but it was lovely.

IMG-5461

Beautimous!

IMG-5464

Heart this!

IMG-5467

Now this one, I am adoring the green with the dark sweet potato vine.

IMG-5471

This is actually my favorite sweet potato vine and I love those grasses with tails, so swoon!

IMG-5472

Yes please.

IMG-5475

We played a couple of games that night, Farkle and Heads Up on my phone, both were fun!

This was our last sunset. We didn’t stand at the top and watch, we travelled down some stairs we had never discovered before, right onto the beach. Our surroundings were beautiful, much better than the actual sunset.

Three Good Kids and The Peanuts Champ in the purty tall grasses.

FullSizeRender (103)

Old friends are a kiss on the cheek from God.

FullSizeRender (104)

We put that old selfie stick to good use on this trip!

IMG-5490

Started out grand. Love the waves rolling in.

IMG-5489

Lighthouse in the distance.

IMG-5492

Trying to be artistic and get sun, lighthouse, water, sand and grasses IN the frame, and get the folks frolicking on the beach OUT of the frame.

IMG-5482

Shortly after this the sun slipped behind the clouds and that was it.

IMG-5483

Still loverly though.

IMG-5496

South Haven, land of fantabulous hydrangeas!!!!!! They must have the perfect soil!

IMG-5497

We passed this pretty spot in our to-ing and fro-ing the beach.

IMG-5499

I told Honey that we should rent a house and haul our crew over there some year. Or up North. Or to the mountains in Tennessee. So many pretty places to go!

My haul from Holland. We have decided that we may make this a regular feature of the week, it’s not so far, around a half an hour. We were SO SAD that one of our favorite stores in South Haven was closing! Just My Bag had a moving sign in the window and was never open when we were there, sad face emoji! I guess the owner was retiring and moving to Arizona or something. We were so disappointed but of course completely understand.

I bought the word stones and rocks to put some in my leaf on the front porch, which I have apparently not shown on the blob. I will remedy that soon and show you the befores and afters. They always have cute jewelry there and I partook.

IMG-5502

This was my favorite purchase. I can wear this with multiple bracelets, as I often like to do. It was made with the ends of SPOONS! I did pick the least spoon-iest, because my goal was to have the comments be, “oh what a darling silver bracelet!”, instead of “why has that girl got spoons wrapped around her wrist?” I think it may be my must wear thing this fall!

IMG-5503

Thank you Ladies for another year of fun and friendship!!!

IMG-5478

Next year will be a decade!!!! Ten tears is traditionally celebrated with tin or aluminum, put your thinking caps on Girlies!!!!

Leave a comment